Bedford Speedway » 2014 Results


April 19th, 2014
 After being denied a win all of  2013, Jeff Rine struck early in 2014 with  a resounding Late Model win at Bedford Friday night.  It was Rine’s first Bedford score since July of 2012 and 13th of his career at the track.
    In other action, Rick Singleton was the only repeat 2014 winner as he took a second consecutive Limited win,  and the Taylors. this time Evan, dominated the Economod event, but first time winners claimed the other three races on the busy Friday.  Greg Cornell took is first ever Bedford Semi Laet win,  Dave Riley won his first  track Pure Stock event and Jeff Vasos ended the evening with his first career 4 Cylinder win.
   Eric Zembower led the Late Model field to the green but it was Mat Parks blowing by to lead the first lap.   Chad Hollenbeck got by for second on the next lap but Parks had things well in hand  leading easily .  But the man on the move was Rine,  passing a car a lap to move up to fourth by lap five.  
    After a lap 7 restart Rine passed both Matt Sponaugle ans Hollenbeck, but Parks was well ahead already.  Rine cut the margin each lap and was all over Parks when he overshot the runway on lap  12 and got sideways in turn three.  That move cost him valuable distance and second spot as Hollenbeck got by.
      But there were no more mistakes as Rine got back by  for second on lap 15 and immediately closed up distance on Parks.  On lap 20 he swept by and ran off for the win.  Parks chased until he got tied up on the last lap, allowing DJ Troutman to take second at the line.  Opening day winner Dylan Yoder  finished his run from 10th with a third.  Parks and Shawn Claar completed the top five.  Mike Altobelli and Sponaugle won the heats.
    Opening day winner Rick Singleton returned for more with a dominating performance in the Limited event.  Young Kyle Lee led the race from the pole ahead of Nathan Lasalle as Singleton climbed from the pack.   But Singleton got by Lasalle on lap 9 and blew by Lee two laps later.  After that he led easily to the end.  Lee was second, followed by Lasalle, Darrell Dick and Brian Lowery.  George Dixon, Singleton and Eric Irvin won the heats.
     Defending track champion Robby Black was among the feature non starters as a grinding heat race crash decimated the field.  That action saw Jason Peachey flip wildly down the back stretch and much of the field involved.
     Tom Warren  was the initial Semi Late leader but Greg Cornell led lap two.  Cornell led the distance but was never more than a car length ahead of a wild 4 car battle for second.   Brian Duffy, Bob Jay, Jim Sayler,  and Lou Wannyn went at it for the duration, often running two by two behind Cornell.   Justin Michael ran that group down late to increase the traffic,  but Cornell held on for the narrow win.
     At the finish  Cornell led Duffy,  Jay, Sayler. Michael ad Wannyn trailed.  Sayler and Duffy won the heats
     Once again it was the Taylor family dominating the Economodified event.  This time Evan led the distance.  Jonathan rallied late to run second but did not close on Evan before the finish.  Brandon Lasalle, Dave Brown and George Beckett trailed.
     Brad Nesline led the first two Pure Stock laps before Dave Riley got by.  He led easily until Charlie Walter ran him down by mid race.   From then on it was Walter and finally Travis Group all over the leader but Riley prevailed for his first ever win.
    Action was halted on lap three as a multi car tangle occurred in turn four resulting in a wild flip by Tyler Ritchey.  Behind Riley at the finish were Walter, Group, Brad Feight and Denny Norris. Riley, Brad Feight and Walter won the heats.
     Four Cylinder action was,,as usual, wild.  Jeff Vasos took the initial lead but it was a 5 car pack at the front.    Vasos held off the challenges of Tom Brady early and Bailey Johnson late as the field self destructed    behind him.  At the finish it was Vasos for the first time ever, over Johnson, Brady, Wayne Brenize and Steve Frederick.  Cale Martin and Dustin Drake won the heats.
 LATE MODEL 25 LAP  1  Jeff Rine, DJ Troutman,  Dylan Yoder,  Matt parks,  Shawn Claar,  DJ Myers,  Chuck Clise,  Mike Lupfer,  Matt Sponaugle,  Mike Altobelli,  Wayne Johnson,  Travis Cottle,  Travis Wilson,  Tom Decker Jr,  Tom Decker III,  Chad Hollenbeck,  Eric Zembower,  Matt Cosner.  Ralph Morgan
LIMITED 18 LAP  1  Rick Singleton,  Kyle Lee,  Nathan Lasalle,  Darrell Dick,  Brian Lowery,  George Dixon,  Chad Myers,  Ron Bottenfield,  Curtis Heath,  Josh Berrier,  Brian Lessley,  Troy Swindell,  Eric Irvin,  Matt Eckman,  Bryan Benton,  Kayden Smith,  Donnie Farlling,  Dan Farlling,  Dion Lasalle,  Andrew Yoder,  DNS  Robby Black,  Jason Peachey,  Travis Calhoun,  Chad Walter.
SEMI LATE 16 LAP  1 Greg Cornell,  Brian Duffy,  Bob Jay,  Jim Sayler,  Justin Michael,  Lou Wannyn,  R Troutman,  Jesse Snyder,  George Beckett,  Kerry Molovich,  Ryan Beckett,  Scott Sturtz,  Tom Warren,  Justin Bonnett,  DNS  Paul Gambol
ECONOMOD  12 LAP  1  Evan Taylor,  Jonathan Taylor,  Brandon Lasalle,  Dave Brown,  Georger Beckett,  Alyssa Rowe,  Adam Daniels,  Vic Vandergrift, Rick Singleton.
PURE STOCK 12 LAPS  1  Dave Riley  Charlie Walter,  Travis   Group.  Brad Feight,  Denny Norris,  Kyle Beckett,  Dave Lambert,  Ed Vogel,  Bill Noll.  Rod Mock,  Shawn Shoemaker,  Preston Imler,  Greg Beckett,  Brad Nesline,  Dakota Foor,  Matt Diehl,  Mike Benton,  Shyann Bard,  Terry Norris,  Tyler Ritchey,  Tyler Alkine, Amber Mills,  DNS  Stan Muir