Bedford Speedway » 2015 Results


July 6th, 2015
 On the third try, Bedford finally got its Late Model Speedweek event completed Sunday night.  The event, rained out both during original speedweek as well as the rescheduled night on Friday,  was a $4000 40 lap win for Bedford regular  Jeff Rine.   Rine’s second win of the season was the  19th of his  Bedford career, tying him with track legend Scott Rhodes at 7th on the all time list.  In other action on the Sunday card, Brian Lowery dominated the field for his first Limited win in almost a year, while Jim Sayler and Ed Vogel rallied late to take the Semi Late and Pure Stock mains.
    DJ Troutman took off at the start to lead the 26 car field.  He had Rine in tow with Matt Cosner in hot pursuit.  The front three received a scare on lap 13 as Eric Zembower spun in front of the leaders in turn 4.  On the restart the battle at the front resumed but many eyes were on Gregg Satterlee, making a run forward after starting 12th in the field, and already up to fifth.
    Rine continued to hound Troutman until finally swooping by for the lead on lap 21.  after the event’s second caution.  But Satterlee was coming hard.  He zipped by Cosner and Troutman on lap 23 and instantly was all over Rine.  Lap after lap the two went at it for the lead, eventually zipping through lapped traffic.  Rine bounced off a lapped car on lap 30 but gathered it back in before Satterlee could snatch the top spot.
    One final yellow on lap 35 closed the field and Satterlee gave it a 5 lap shot to the end but fell short. Rine took the win over Satterlee, whose night had begun by losing a driveshaft in warmups.   While Satterlee was battling at the front, Dan Stone came from 16th to secure third with two laps to go and chased the leaders across the finish line. Gene Knaub and Austin Hubbard completed the top five.
    Troutman, Knaub and Jason Schmidt won the heats,
     Brian Lowery ran 20  perfect laps enroute to his Limited win.  Eric Irvin took up the chase and actually had run Lowery down after 13 green laps,  but on the restart, Lowery was able to power away for the win.  Irvin posted a career best sercond place run ahead of Ralph Morgan who came from eighth.  Kyle Lee and Troy Swindell were the top 5.  Lowery and Swindell won the heats.
    Bob Jay was the initial Semi Late leader but he attracted a mob at the front.  Greg Cornell was all over Jay, but by lap 5 Jim Sayler had run them down.  Zane Weicht jioned the group a lap later and the four of them traded spots.  OPn lap 11, Sayler made a spectacular move from third to first in one turn and was never headed, but coming for the checkered flag, Sayler broke something in the read end under his car and barely held on for the win.
   Cornell and Jay went at it for the duration before finishing in that order behind the winner.  Weicht dropped out late allowing Jim Sacco and Chad Gambol to grab top 5 spots.  Sayler and Jesse Snyder won the heats.
    Terry Mitchell led the first three Pure Stock laps but there was a 7 car gang at the front.  Vogel went from 4th to the lead on lap 4 and never looked back. Brad Feight And Tyler Alkine battled behind Vogel, trading second several times before finishing in that order.  Travis Group and Kyle Weyandt completed the top 5.  Feight and Greg Beckett won the heats.
LATE MODEL 40 LAP  1 Jeff Rine,  Gregg Satterlee,  Dan Stone,  Gene Knaub,  Austin Hubbard,  Matt Cosner,  Andy Haus,  Rick Singleton,  Jim Yoder,  Chuck Clise,  Waylon Wagner,  Jason Schmidt,  Eric Zembower,  Chad Hollenbeck,  Darrass Deneen,  Sam Grindlesberger,  DJ Troutman,  Matt Sponaugle,  Colby Frye,  Mike Lupfer,  Jack Pencil,  Jerry Bard,  Mason Zeigler,  Wayne Johnson,  Larry Baer,  Jason Gilliland,  DNS  Gary Stuhler, Keith Jackson, Cody Robbins.
LIMITED 20 LAPS  1  Brian Lowery,  Eric Irvin,  Ralph Morgan,  Kyle Lee,  Troy Swindell,  Robby Black,  Donnie Farlling,  Josh Berrier,  Curtis Heath,  Gage Whitsell,  Ron Bottenfield,  Travis Calhoun,  Taylor Farlling,  Nathan Lasalle,  DNS  Matt Eckman,  Darrell Dick,  Cody Kershner.
SEMI LATE 15 LAP  1  Jim Sayler,  Bob Jay, Greg Cornell,  Jim Sacco,  Chad Gambol,  Jesse Snyder,  Jamie Kohan,  Scvoiott Sturtz,  Justin Michael,  Zane Weicht,  Devin Weyandt,  Tom Warren,  Rick Wright,  Dave Brown,  DNS  Lou Wannyn,  Dave Whetstone.
PURE STOCK 12 LAPS  1  Ed Vogel,  Brad Feight,  Tyler Alkine,  Travis Group,  Kyle Weyandy,  Greg Beckett  Travis Vogel,  Terry Mitchell,  Beau Aikey,  Jim Dearmitt,  Trent Clark,  Dave Lambert,  Brian Ringler,  Owen Baughman,  Justin Queen,  Dan Artie,  DNS  John Howsare.