Bedford Speedway » 2016 Results


August 20th, 2016
  Matt Cosner continued his  hot 2016 season with a win in the special Friday night at Bedford.  The 30 lap victory, his fourth of the year, was worth $2500, and he remains the only Late Model driver with multiple 2016 wins at the track.  In other action, Lou Wannyn took his third Semi Late win, Jonathan Taylor took his   fifth EMod win and Wayne Brenize took his fourth 4 Cylinder event.
    Gene Knaub shot by pole sitter Jeff Rine at the start of the Late Model 30 lapper and ran off for the early lead.   Cosner shot by Rine later on the first lap and took off after Knaub.   Cosner had caught and was all over Knaub for the lead by the time the first caution flew for a slowing DJ Troutman on the backstretch on lap 14..
     Everyone was poised for the expected battle up front on the restart, but it never materialized as Knaub shot into the pits just as the field came to the restart cone.  Cosner inherited the lead without a fight and took advantage of his fate.   Over the last 11 all green laps, Cosner romped to a huge advantage over the field to score the win.
     Dan Angellichio secured second on lap 15 and held off the advances of Andy Haus to secure that spot at the finish, his best Bedford finish ever.   Haus was third, followed by Matt Sponaugle, Jason Schmidt and Matt Parks.  Rine, driving Troy Swindell’s #21 after experiencing motor woes in his regular ride, was seventh.
Haus and Sponaugle won the heats.
     In the special time trial session held to set the field, Matt Cosner broke the long standing one lap record when he blistered the track in 18.748 seconds.
    Justin Milburn led the early EMod laps until Jonathan Taylor roared from the pack top take the lead on lap 3.  Mike Reynolds got by Milburn on lap five and chased Taylor for the duration before finishing second.  Milburn held off a serious late race challenge from Alyssa Rowe to score third,  ahead of Rowe, Bill Pluta and Ken Singer.   Taylor and Reynolds won the heats.
    Pole sitter Lou Wannyn grabbed the lead at the start and led the distance in the Semi Late event.   While Wannyn pulled away,  the next four cars battled fiercely.  for the opportunity to chase him.  Bob Jay, Dave Whetstone, Greg Cornell and Jesse Snyder traded the spots frequently, several times going three wide in the battle as Tom Warren chased them down trying to join in.
    At the finish it was Wannyn for the win, followed by Whetstone, Jay, Cornell Snyder and Warren in a knot.  Snyder and Jay won the heats.
    After three relatively caution free events, the 4 Cylinder finale was a wild one, with multiple yellows and a red flag dotting the laps.   Chris Reckner led the opening lap before Wayne Brenize got by.   Brenize led Reckner as the field self destructed behind them, including a red flag when Jeremy Miller caught fire in front of the grandstands.
    When things settled down,  Reckner chased Brenize for the distance to score his career best Bedford finish at second,  followed by Cale Martin,  Rusty Martin, Noah Swank and Morgan Price, who started dead last on the field.  Ryan Peer, who was eliminated in a grinding lap 8 crash, and Brenize won the heats.
LATE MODEL 30 LAPS  1  Matt Cosner,  Dan Angellichio,  Andy Haus,  Matt Sponaugle,  Jason Schmidt,  Matt Parks,  Jeff Rine,  Tim Wilson,  Gene Knaub,  DJ Troutman,  Nick Dickson,  Joe Petyak,  Jeff Johnson,  Dave Troutman,  DNS  Keith Jackson,  Eric Zembower,  Chuck Clise,  Troy Swindell
EMOD  18 LAPS  1  Jonathan Taylor,  Mike Reynolds,  Justin Milburn,  Alyssa Rowe,  Bill Pluta,  Ken Singer,  Ed Vogel,  Chris Fletcher,  John Whitfield,  Jerry Fifield,  Brian fyfe,  Mike Meck,  Jim Saylor
SEMI LATE 15 LAP  1  Lou Wannyn,  Dave Whetstone,  Bob Jay,  Greg Cornell,  Jesse Snyder,  Tom Warren,  Jarrod Brown,  Scott Sturtz,  Joe Pluta.. DNS  Travis Calhoun
4 CYLINDER 12 LAP  1  Wayne Brenize,  Chris Reckner,  Cale Martin,  Rusty Martin,  Noah Swank,  Morgan Price,  Chris Strout,  Tom Brady,  Ryan Peer,  Jeremy Miller,  Josh Fetters,  Joe Means,  DQ  Phil Best,  Darren Howsare,  Kolby Crawley,   DNS  Tyler Burchfield,  Steve Frederick.