Bedford Speedway » 2013 Results


July 13th, 2013
  Mike Altobelli Jr, son of  the legendary  former Semi Late driver with the same name, scored his first career Bedford Speedway Late Model winner in action Friday night.  He became the 128th different LM winner in the long speedway history with the run.  Craig Perigo rallied late to score his win in Limited action, while Jonathan Taylor, Ed Vogel and Ryan Peer were successful in Pure Stock, Emod and 4 Cyliinder action.  But the finish of the night was in the Semi Late event where George Beckett took a razor thin win after the speedway official viewed the feature finish.picture.
    Altobelli scooted around pole sitter Cory Weaver at the start to lead the Late model feature.  The race was only one lap old when the first caution flew for Jack Pencil, returning after a short retirement, hit the wall hard in turn 4.  Altobelli  took off on the restart, leading until lap 4 when Weaver slid into the wall in turn two.  That yellow became significant as in the scramble, point leader Matt Parks slid into Weaver, damaging his car.
   Altobelli again ran off from the field on the restart but Matt Sponaugle was on the move.  He got by DJ Troutman for second on lap 6 and was instantly all over Altobelli.  Twice Sponaugle got along side Altobelli for the lead but Altobelli held him off. Lap after lap the pair went at it with Jeff Rine closing fast on them.   With about three laps to go, Altobelli cleared a lapped car easily while Sponaugle didn’t, opened up a bit of distance  running to the historic checkered flag.  Sponaugle settled for second ahead of Rine, whose car erupted in a plume of smoke  while crossing the line.  Troutman, Chad Hollenback, Chuck Clise, Matt Cosner, Wayne Johnson and Tyler Castle trailed.  Parks. after losing several laps in the pits on repairs, took tenth.
     Travis Calhoun was the early Limited leader with Kyle Lee in pursuit.   Craig Perigo  started sixth but was third on the first lap.   He cleared Lee one lap later and went to work on Calhoun.  As the lead pair wrestled,  Robby Black knifed through the field and into third place behind them.  Lap after lap Calhoun and Perigo went at it with Black closing fast until  a lap 12 caution for Nathan Lasalle closed the field.
    On the restart, Perigo and Black both shot by Calhoun and ran to the checkered flag in that order,  At the finish it was Perigo the winner, trailed by Black, Calhoun, Lee and Curtis Heath.  Heath and Perigo won the heats.
    George Beckett was the early Semi Late leader before action was halted by a wild 11 car crash in turn three.  When things resumed, Beckett led Greg Hainsey  but they drew a crown.  Chris Chamberlain joined the battle by lap 5 and Brian Duffey jumped in a few laps later.  The four car gang went at it lap after lap but Beckett held on until a lap 14 caution for Ryan Krause.  On the one lap shootout to decide it,  Chamberlain made his move and almost pulled it off at the line.  As the lead pair came to the finish it was too close to call but the track photographer was on the spot and produced the picture showing Becket ahead by a foot.
      At that point, Beckett was invited to the stage for his first Bedford win in about a decade.  Chamberlain, after being so close, took second while Duffey, Hainsey and Tom Warren completed the top five.  Ryan and George Beckett swept the heats.
   Jonathan Taylor ran down early leader Tony Daniels and then led the distance to take his second.   Economodified  event of the season.  Daniels was second, ahead of Brandon Lasalle, Adam Daniels and Justin Milburn.
    Ed Vogel led flag to flag in the Pure Stock event but it was a dog fight to the finish.  Terry Norris ran Vogel down  by lap six and Travis Group joined in a few laps later.  While Group and Norris wrestled with each other, Vogel kept the lead to the finish.   Norris nipped Group for second while Kyle Beckett, Brad Feight Bill Replogle, Jarrod Brown, Travis Brown and Dave Lambert completed the top 10-.  Norris, Replogle and Group won the heats.
   As usual the 4 Cylinder finale was filled with action.  Ryan Peer  led the first lap,  which featured a caution period.  When Peer faltered on the restart, Andrew Pluta, Matt Diehl and Pat Breahm got by.  Pluta led as Peer got back into the fight and retook the lead  on lap 7.  From that point on, Peer held off  Dustin Drake and Breahm for the win.  Breahm, Drake, Pluta and Matt Diehl were the top five.  Brenise, Peer and Drake won the heats.
LATE MODEL 25 LAP1  Mike Altobelli,  Matt Sponaugle,  Jeff Rine,  DJ Troutman,  Chad Hollenback,  Chuck Clise,  Matt Cosner,  Wayne Johnson,  Tyler  Castle,  Matt Parks,  Travis Cottle,  Eric Zembower,  Justin Kann,  Cory Weaver,  Jack Pencil
LIMITED 20 LAPS  1  Craig Perigo,  Robby Black,  Travis Calhoun,  Kyle Lee,  Curtis Heath,  Will Rowe,  Donnie Farlling,  Ron Bottenfield,  Dion Lasalle,  Matt Eckman,  Nathan Lasalle,  Justin Wilson,  Larry Foor
SEMI LATE 15 LAP  1  George Beckett,  Chris Chamberlain,  Brian Duffy,  Greg Hainsey,  Tom Warren,   Ryan Beckett,  Dave Whetstone,  Bob Jay,  Greg Cornell,  Kerry Molovich,  Mike Lauffer,  Ray Sheetz,  Lou Wannyn,  Ryan Krause,  Chris Cogan,  Jesse Snyder,  John Whitfield,  Vigi Zuccollot
MODIFIED  12 LAP  1  Jonathan Taylor,  Tony Daniels,  Brandon Lasalle,  Adam Daniels,  Justin Milburn
PURE STOCK 15 LAP  1  Ed Vogel,  Terry Norris,  Travis Group,  Dave Riley,  Kyle Beckett,  Brad Feight,  Bill Replogle,  Jarrod Brown,  Travis Brown,  Dave Lambert, Bill Noll,  Charlie Walter,  Kaydee Smith,  Greg Beckett,  Mike Lewis,  Mike Clark,  Dave Green,  Shaw,  Amber Mills,  Justin Michaels,   DNS Dakota Foor
4 CYLINDER  12 LAP  1  Ryan Peer,  Pat Breahm,  Dustin Drake,  Andrew Pluta,  Matt Diehl,  Robet Pluta,  EJ Johnson,  John Diehl,  Steve Frederick,  Wayne Brenise,  Tyler Beckett,  John Brady,  Garrett Watkins,  Bailey Johnson,  Mike Meck,  Ed Plummer,  Jarrod Barclay,  Jordan Helsel,  Nick Zborovancik,  Cale Martin,  Jeff Vasos,  Nathan Altobelli,  DNS  Brandon Conrad