Bedford Speedway ยป 2017 Results


April 10th, 2017
    After a two day weather delay, the 2017 season finally got started on Sunday at the Bedford Speedway.  It was well worth the wait for Chad Hollenbeck, who scored his first career Bedford Late Model win. in exciting fashion. In doing so he became the 137th different winner in the track’s history, and just barely held off a racer going for his record breaking sixth win in a row, Matt Cosner.  In keeping with the spirit of the new season, three other drivers also won their Bedford firsts.  Boyd Brode snared an exciting last lap win in Semi Late action, visitor Mike Potosky took the EMod event and Dakota Foor waited out the tech line to score a Pure Stock win.  Wayne Brenize ended the evening with another 4 Cylinder conquest.
      The Late Model event was slowed quickly as Brian Booze plastered the turn two wall on lap one, but on the restart , Chad Hollernbeck took off from the field.  By the time the next caution flew on lap 14, Hollenbeck had a sizeable lead over Matt Sponaugle, DJ Troutman and Jeff Rine,  who were wrist wrestling for second place.  The group ran in that order until the next caution on lap 17 for Troutman..
    On that restart, Matt Cosner, going for a record sixth Bedford consecutive win, Blasted in to the picture.  He shot by Rine, and Sponaugle  on  lap 18 and arrived on Hollenbeck’s bumper.  Over the last seven laps, Cosner gave Hollenbeck all he could hamdle in a spine tingling attack at the lead, but fell short at the finish.  
   Cosner followed in a disappointing second place run, followed by Rine, Sponaugle, Chuck Clise and Keith Barbara.  Barbara and Sponaugle won the heats
    Career class win leader Bob Jay took off from the Semi Late field and led the duration in that event.  Boyd Brode camped out on Jay’s bumper and was in hot pursuit until the last lap.  Within sight of the finish line, Jay’s car broke, allowing Brode to slip by at the line for his first ever Bedford win.
    Jay took a disappointing second, followed by Brian Weyandt Jr, Brandon Hoover and Cale Martin.  Weyandt and Jesse Snyder won the heats.
    It took a wild starting line move to get Mike Potosky from fifth to the lead on the first EMod lap, but once there he was in control for the duration.  Bill Pluta and Vic Vandergrift battled for second until Vandergrift took that spot on lap 10.
    After that, Vandergrift closed on Potosky but could not challenge seriously.  Alyssa Rowe closed late to take third, ahead of Justin Milburn and Rich Goodman.  Vandergrift and Rowe won the heats.
    Travis Group led Barry Weyandt for the duration of the Pure Stock event, from green to checkered.  Group took the checkered flag but then failed in the tech line.  Second place finisher Weyandt  was light on the scale.  Dakota Foor, who had loaded up and was leaving the facility, was summoned and became the shocked winner after passing tech.  The revised order showed Brad Feight, Joe Dearmitt, Tyler Ritchey and Kyle Weyandt completing the top five.  Trent Clark and Ritchey won the heats.
    Todd Price and Darren Howsare led the 4 Cylinder event early before Wayne Brenize took over on lap 10.   Brenize led the last two laps to score the win over Howsare, Price and Shawn Miller.  Brenize and Rusty Martin won the heats.
LATE MODEL 25 LAP  Chad Hollenbeck,  Matt Cosner,  Jeff Rine,  Matt Sponaugle,  Chuck Clise,  Keith Barbara,  Kenny Moreland,  Darriss Deneen,  DJ Troutman,  Dave Troutman,  Curtis Heath,  Rick Singleton,  Brian Booze.
SEMI LATE 15 LAPS  Boyd Brode,  Bob Jay,  Brian Weyandt J,  Brandon Hoover,  Cale Martin,  Mark Patterson,  Tom Brady,  Jesse Snyder,  DNS  Bill Replogle
EMOD  18 LAP    Mike Potosky,  Vic Vandergrift,  Alyssa Rowe,  Justin Milburn,  Rich Goodman,  John Whitfield,  Beau Aikey,  Drake Troutman,  Brian Fyfe,  Mike Meck,  Bill Pluta,  Ryan Peer,  Dave Brown,  Vigi Zucollotto,  DNS  Ed Vogel
PURE STOCK 15 LAP    Dakota Foor,  Brad Feight,  Joe Dearmitt,  Tyler Ritchey,  Kyle Weyant,  Trent Clark,  Kevin Weyandt,  Denny Pittman,  Dave Green,  Owen Baughman,  Erik Weyandt,  Jim Dearmitt,  Preston Imler,  Laura Chamberlain,  Matt Brode,  Tyler Thomas,  DNS  Nick Bechtel,  Josh Frankberry,  Dave Lambert,  DQ  Travis Group,  Barry Weyandt
FOUR CYLINDER  12 LAP  Wayne Brenize,  Darren Howsare,  Todd Price,  Shawn Miller,  Steven Martin,  Cal Redinger,  Shane Seville,  Bryan Ickes,  TJ Taylor,  Rusty Martin,  Nathan Gilliland,  Latavan Spriggs,  Casey Fleegle,  Keith Deeter,  Phil Best,  Steve Martin,  Bruce Betres,  Morgan Price,  Kolby Crawley,  DNS   Chris Reckner