Bedford Speedway ยป 2018 Results


August 11th, 2018

    With the most dominating performance in recent years, Tyler Bare took the big 35 lap Late Model event at Bedford Friday night.  The win was worth $3000 to the fleet Virginian and was his first win ever at Bedford.  He became the 141st different Late Model at the track, the sixth to win in the famous 43A, and, with his famous father, the tenth second generation Late Model winner at the track.  In other action, big 2018 winners Jesse Snyder, Mike Altobelli Jr and Denny Pittman continued their winning ways in Semi Late Emod and Pure Stock events.

    Ignoring predictions of inclement weather, Bare and the 43A team towed to Bedford for the 35 lap event.   An afternoon rain forced a late start to the festivities but helped create a smooth and blindingly fast surface.  

     Tyler Bare drew a front row starting position and he made the best of it.  He blasted by Matt Cosner on the start and never looked back.  Jeff Rine also got by Cosner who then spent 13 lap-s trying to retake that position.  Cosner took the spot on lap 14. but Bare was gone,  long gone, and pulling away with every lap.   

    Bare was about a half lap ahead of Cosner and the field when he got into some pretty serious lapped traffic by lap 22, allowing Cosner  to appear to gain slightly.  But having cleared the traffic, Bare once again stretched it out.  

     Rine fell back into the clutches of Matt Sponaugle and just ahead of Allen Brannon and Robby Black, who traded fifth position several times.   Brannon dropped out on lap 30 as Bare closed on that whole group in the closing laps.

     At the finish it was Bare by almost a half lap over Cosner.   Rine, Sponaugle and Black completed the top five and finished directly ahead of the winner.   The event went green to checkered and ran in a time of 11:29, the fastest 35 lap event in track history.  Bare was turning near record lap times throughout the entire 35 laps.  Sponaugle and Bare won the heats.

    Mike Altobelli Jr was totally in love with the rain induced high speed track.  He shot from third to first on the first Emod lap and ran off from the field.  Pole sitter Brian Duffy in the second Hardinge car ran second until lap 10 when he retired, allowing Drake Troutman to snag that spot until the finish.  

    Third place was a race long battle as Ryan Peer, Jamie Kohan and Bill Pluts battled, with Pluta finally securing the spot on the white flag lap.  Ryan Peer held on for fourth, a career best finish.  Kohan completed the top 5.

     The Semi Lates ran their biggest show of the season, the 30 lap Weyant Memorial.  Dave Whetstone led the first Semi Late lap but Jesse Snyder shot by on lap two and never looked back.   Whetstone ran for his life as a 5 car mob chased him throughout the early laps.  Bob Jay caught that gang and methodically worked his way through.  Greg Hainsey got by Whetstone for second on lap 18 and brought Jay with him.  

     A couple quick cautions gave the field a few last looks at Snyder,  But he ran off to the 30 lap win.   Jay was all over Hainsey but settled for third.  Bill Replogle and Brian Weyandt Jr completed the top 5.  Snyder and Weyandt won the heats.

    Denny Pittman led the first lap and then held off a six car mob for the duration to score the Pure Stock win.  Josh Frankenberry was working is way through the mob when his transmission broke, sending his car hard into the turn one wall on lap 12.   

    Pittman continued to lead after that slowdown, although Dakota Foor made several challenges.   Foor fell victim to Shawn Shoemaker on lap 16, but Shoemaker also fell short of passing Pittman, who held on for the win.   Shoemaker, Foor , Kyle Weyant and Dalton Ritchey completed the top 5.  Pittman and Foor won the heats.


  LATE MODEL 35 LAP  1  Tyler Bare,  Matt Cosner,  Jeff Rine,  Matt Sponaugle,  Robby Black,  Chuck Clise,  Nathan Lasalle,  Tyler Horst,  Wayne Johnson,  Allen Brannon,  DJ Troutman,  Kyle Lee,  Dave Troutman  Jayme Beck,  Devin Weyandt,  DNS  Cory Weaver, Andy Haus


SENI LATES 30 LAPS  1  Jesse Snyder,  Greg Hainsey,  Bob Jay,  Bill Replogle,  Brian Weyandt Jr,  Travis Calhoun,  Kyle Weyant,  Josh Bloom,  Dave Whetstone,  Tom Warren,  Tom Brady,  Chris Wolfe,  Mark Patterson,  Chris Chamberlain,  Scott Sturtz,  Chubby Childers,  


EMOD  18 LAPS  1  Mike Altobelli Jr,  Dave Troutman,  Bill Pluta,  Ryan Peer,  Jamie Kohan,  Justin Milburn,  Amber Mills,  Mike Meck,  Brian Duffy


PURE STOCKS 20 LAPS  1  Denny Pittman,  Shawn Soemaker,  Dakota Foor,  Kyle Weyant,  Dalton Ritchey,  Kyle Deneen,  Travis Group,  Laura Chamberlain,  Erik Weyandt,  Tim Brown,  Barrty Weyandt,  Nathan Gilliland,  Mason Replogle,  Josh Frankenberry,  Charlie Clise,  Mark Shaffer