Bedford Speedway » News

Champions Saluted at Bedford Banquet

January 28th, 2015

[singlepic id=89 w=300 h=200 float=right]The 2014 Bedford Fairgrounds Speedway racing season officially concluded Saturday night January 24th, with the Annual Awards Banquet at the Bedford Elks Club Ballroom. Nearly 300 people turned out to see the top point’s finishers in the Super Late Model, Late Model Sportsman, Semi Late, Modified, Pure Stock and Four Cylinders recognized.

Track champions receiving their awards at the banquet were Jeff Rine, Rick Singleton, Lou Wannyn, Brandon LaSalle, and Ryan Peer. The family of Pure Stock Champion Charlie Walter was on hand to honor the memory of Charlie who tragically passed away in early January.

After claiming five wins this year, including three in a row at one point early in the season, 2015 was undoubtedly Jeff Rine’s year at Bedford. This was Rine’s second career Bedford championship, his first being in 2010. Rine also claimed the title at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday nights this year. Rine’s five wins this season give him 17 for his Bedford career tying him with the legendary Larry Wright. Rine, behind the wheel of the Elbin family #92 was the only driver to win more than once, with single wins each going to Dylan Yoder, Greg Satterlee, Austin Hubbard, Matt Parks, Jason Covert, Eric Zembower, Chuck Clise, Matt Sponaugle, and Kenny Pettyjohn.

Also winning his first Bedford championship since 2010 was Rick Singleton, who took home the Late Model Sportsman honors. Singleton had a fantastic season winning nine times in 2015, bringing his win total to 15, tied for fourth all-time in the division. In a highly competitive season Singleton managed to dominate, leading the points wire to wire after starting out the season with three straight wins.

Lou Wannyn claimed his first career title in the Semi Late division, with five wins this season. The Semi Lates, one of the most exciting divisions of racing in the area had nine different winners in 15 events. The e-mod division, introduced at the speedway last season continued to grow. By the end of the year car counts had increased into the mid-teens, very respectable for a second year division. Brandon LaSalle claimed his first Bedford championship with his modified title. LaSalle backed up a consistent season with a single win in June.

Charlie Walter was the champion in the Pure Stock division, his fourth Bedford title. After tragically passing away in an auto accident in early January, Charlie was posthumously honored at the banquet. A large contingent of his family and friends attended the banquet to celebrate Charlie’s memory. In his Bedford racing career Charlie was the all-time win leader in the Pure Stock division (27), with four pure stock titles. His 27 Bedford wins (all divisions combined) leaves him ranked 7th tied with Gary Stuhler, Brian Duffy, and Jim Sayler.

Another driver winning his first Bedford championship this season was Ryan Peer in the Four Cylinders. Ryan took home four wins along with his title in his second year of racing at Bedford. The wild and crazy Four Cylinders had seven different winners over the course of the season.

The 79th season of racing at the Bedford Speedway will officially commence on Saturday afternoon  March 28th 2015. The first event on the schedule will be a test and tune session for all divisions beginning at 3PM. Opening Day will be Friday night, April 10th with traditional Friday night racing. Friday night racing continuing throughout the summer, every week until September, with the occasional Sunday and holiday shows also on the schedule. As is tradition the Super Late Models will continue to headline Bedford racing, with a strong weekly program being augmented by several special events. The Three State Flyers Late Model Series makes appearances on each summer holiday. These commence with the “Johnny Grum Tribute” on Friday May 22nd followed by the “Milt Miller Tribute” on Friday July 3rd. Both of these 40 lap events will pay $4000 to win. The final Three State Flyers appearance of the season will be the 28th Annual “Labor Day Classic”, on Friday night, September 4th. The Late Model 55 lapper will feature an increased purse over last year with the winner taking home $6055. In addition, the seventh annual Appalachian Mountain Speedweek will open its weeklong series at Bedford on Friday night May 29th.

Also on the exciting Bedford slate in 2015 will be the Late Model Sportsman, Semi Lates, Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders weekly. The schedule includes a variety of special events for these Bedford divisions, rewarding them for their fantastic support and tremendous racing. In addition, appearances at Bedford will be made by the 410 Sprints, ARDC Midgets, Laurel Highlands Racesaver Sprints, All American Outlaws, Penn- Mar Vintage cars and the classic racers of the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing.     

For more information about the 2015 racing season at the Bedford Fairgrounds please check www.bedfordspeedway for additional updates as they are made public.