Bedford Speedway » 2016 Results


August 27th, 2016
 Matt Cosner continued his late season hot streak with another Late Model win at Bedford Friday night.  It was Cosner’s third win in a row at the track and fourth win in the last five weeks.   Ralph Morgan devastated the field to score his first ever Bedford Limited win, before   Jim Dearmitt scored his first ever Bedford Pure Stock victory.   Ryan Peer ended the evening with his class leading fifth 4 Cylinder win of the year.   In the special appearance of the PenMar vintage club, Glen Pobletts easily won.
    It took 4 tries to get the Late Model event underway.   The first recall was for a sloppy start, but the others were all for spins and crashes on the start.  But on the fourth try, Matt Parks got by pole sitter Chuck Clise to lead lap one.  Clise recovered and gave Parks fits until retaking the lead on lap 4.  
    At that point Clise moved away from the field as Parks found himself hounded by Jeff Rine at second.   Rine finally secured second on lap 10, and ran Clise down in only one lap.   Rine made the move for the lead on lap 12 but his hopes ended as he shredded a tire on the backstretch, bringing out the event’s first caution.  That handed the lead back to Clise with Parks in pursuit.
     But attention suddenly focused on Matt Cosner, who was coming hard from his eighth starting spot.  Cosner got by DJ Troutman for third on lap 15 and Parks on lap 17.   With renewed vigor, Cosner ran down Clise and zoomed by on lap 20.  From that point it was clear sailing for Cosner to the run to the finish.
    Clise took second ahead of Parks, DJ Troutman, and Matt Sponaugle.  Rine and Parks won the heats.   With the win,  Cosner is still mathematically alive in the 2016 point race,  although Rine pretty much only needs to start next week to claim the crown.
    Ralph Morgan made quick work of the Limited field.  He started on the pole, took off at the start and led the  25 lap distance in the event which went straight through all green.   Nathan Lasalle wrestled with Ron Bottenfield for second for the duration before scoring that finish, followed by Bottenfield, Travis Stickley and Donnie Farlling.  Farlling and Stickley won the heats.   By beating Farlling in the event,  Stickley claimed the 2016 track title.
    The Pure Stock event was a wild one with action extending afterwards as well.   Nick Bechtell took the early lead and stretched out a bit over a intense 10 car battle behind him.  Owen Baughman held second place until John Howsare got by on lap 4.   Howsare caught Bechtell by lap 6 but the whole mob came along.
\   The hungry mob swallowed Bechtell with Howsare taking the lead on lap nine ahead of ten cars running two and three wide.  Dakota Foor took second from Bechtell on lap 11 and brought Travis Group and Beau Aikey with him.
   At the finish it was Howsare first across the line for the win. Jim Dearmitt completed his run from 19th starting spot to take second at the line away from Foor.   Aikey and Group completed the top five.  But post race, Howsare refused to allow his car to be checked, a move which forfeited the win, giving the Honor to Dearmitt and moving up the entire field one spot.  Further tech line misbehavior resulted in further punishments.  Group, Dave Beahr and Dave Lambert won the heats.
    Brad Feight, finishing a nondescript 8th in the feature,  captured the 2016 championship.
    Glenn Pobletts went pole to pole to grab another PenMar vintage win.  Randy Minnich, Scott Rickrode and Mark Rickrode trailed,  Scott Rickrode won the heat.
    Ryan Peer went from sixth to first to lead the frist 4 Cylindr lap.  He then held off the usual crowd for the win.  Darren Howsare, Cale Martin, Wayne Brenize and Tom Brady trailed at the finish.  Peer and Chris Reckner won the heats.   Brady and Brenize enter next weekl’s point finale less than 5 points apart for the title.
LATE MODEL 25 LAP  1  Matt Cosner,  Chuck Clise,  Matt Parks,  DJ Troutman,  Matt Sponaugle,  Rick Singleton,  DJ Myers,  Jason Schmidt,  Jeff Rine,  Mike Altobelli Jr,  Jeff Johnson,  Brian Booze,  Dylan Yoder,  Tom Decker III,  Tom Decker Jr,  DNS  Dave Troutman
LIMITED 25 LAP  1  Ralph Morgan,  Nathan Lasalle,  Ron Bottenfield,  Travis Stickley, Donnie Farlling,  Dan Zechman,  Brian Lowery,  Kaden Smith,  Mike Lauffer,  Tyler Farlling,  Daulton Bilger,  DNS  Devin Hart,  Rance Garlock,  Rick Tripodi
PURE STOCK  15 LAPS  1  Jim Dearmitt,  Dakota Foor,  Beau Aikey,  Travis GHroup,  Dave Lambert,  Joe Dearmitt,  Reed Stickel,  Brad Feight,  Terry Norris,  Dave Riley,  Kyle Weyandt,  Jason Haggerty,  Preston Imler,  Matt Brode,  Brad Hoffman,  Kyle Deneen,  Barry Weyandt,  Dan Jackson,  Nick Bechtell,  Trent Clark,  Owen Baughman,  Erik Weyandt,  Dave Beahr,  Justin Queen,  Denny Pittman  DQ  John Howsare,  DNS  Tyler Ritchey
4 CYLINDER 12 LAPS  1  Ryan Peer,  Darren Howsare,  Cale Martin,  Wayne Brenize,  Tom Brady,  Chris Reckner,  Rusty Martin,  Tyler Beckett,  Todd Price,  Shawn Miller,  Phil Best,  Harold Crawford,  Steve Frederick,  Josh Fetters,  Morgan Price,  DNS  Doug Cornath.
PENMAR  1  Glen Pobletts,  Randy Minnich,  Scott Rickrode,  Mark Rickrode,  Setew Weirich.  Gene Wrightstone,  Randy Fike,  Ronald Rowles  Fred Thompson.