Bedford Speedway ยป 2017 Results


May 27th, 2017
       Chad Hollenbeck enjoyed his first career Bedford win earlier this season so he returned for another one Friday night.   This win was a big one as he took the 40 lap Johnny Grum tribute race at the track and pocketed $4000 for his efforts.   In other action, Jesse Snyder rallied  late to win the Semi Late event while Jonathan Taylor took the EMod win in similar fashion before Casey Fleegle closed the evening with the 4 Cylinder win.
    By the luck of the draw,  Ross Robinson and Amanda Whaley were the front row starters for the 40 lap Late Model event, and Robinson grabbed the early lead.  Robinson led through a couple early cautions  on lap 2 and lap four, ahead of Chad Hollenbeck and Jeff Rine who both got by Whaley in the early laps.
   When things settled down for 15 consecutive green flag laps, Robinson stretched out a bit while Hollenbeck and Rine battled furiously for second.   But all eyes were turned to Dylan Yoder who had discovered the way outside groove on the track.   Yoder  started 12th in the field and spent many laps stuck in that crowd until he started moving forward in a hurry.
    By lap 20, Yoder was in fifth and coming fast.  He took DJ Troutman on lap 23 and instantly charged up on the second place battle.   But Yoder overshot the runway and bounced off the wall   in turn one with sparks flying  on lap 30, falling back to 7th before regaining his momentum.   That moved attention back to the battle for second which was still going on full blast.  But everything changed two laps later when Robinson stopped on the track with a flat tire.
    With Robinson out of the way,  Hollenbeck and Rine continued their battle with more at stake and laps winding down.   Yoder, back on his game, regained third place on lap 37 and closed on the front pair,  but the laps ran out.
   At the finish it was Hollenbeck with his second career Bedford victory, over Rine, Yoder, Troutman, Matt Cosner and Max Blair.  Matt Sponaugle, Hollenbeck and Whaley won the heats.  Andy Haus won the B main.  
    Travis Calhoun led the Semi Late event early ahead of Bill Replogle  as Jesse Snyder and Bob Jay came from deep in the pack.   After only one early caution event,  Snyder and Jay both arrived at the front and made it a 4 way battle until Snyder forged ahead on lap nine.  Jay followed him, taking second on lap 11, but he could not catch Snyder, who cruised to his third win of the year.  He was followed by Jay, Calhoun, Replogle, Dave Whetstone and Boyd Brode.  Jarrod Brown and Brode won the heats.
    Dacron Powell led the first EMod lap before Alyssa Rowe blew by.   Rowe stretched out a nice lead on the field until a lap 10 caution closed the field.   On the restart, Jonathan Taylor and Vic Vandergrift both woke up and charged into second and third, chasing Rowe until the red flew for a wild crash on the backstretch when Ken Singer flipped wildly.   After the red flag delay, Vandergrift retired to the pits, but Taylor went for the lead,  taking over on lap 14.
      From that pint on, Taylor stretched out the field, finishing ahead of Rowe, Dave Brown, Powell and Bill Pluta.  Taylor and Vandergrift won the heats.
    Chris Reckner led the 4 Cylinder finale but attracted a 5 car mob at the front.  Casey Fleegle emerged from the gang to take the lead on lap 5 and held off Darren Howsare for the win.  Wayne Brenize, Kolby Crawley and Corey McKinzie completed the top five.
LATE MODEL 40 LAP  1  Chad Hollenbeck,  Jeff Rine,  Dylan Yoder,  DJ Troutman,  Matt Cosner,  Max Blair,  Andy Haus,  Kyle Lee,  Gene Knaub,  Amamda Whaley,  Dan Stone,  Chuck Clise,  Matt Parks,  Mike Lupfer,  Ross Robinson,  Walker Arthur,  Colby Frye,  Dave Johnson.  Austin Hubbard,  Justin Kann,  Dan Angellichio,  DJ Myers,  Rick Singleton,  Matt Sponaugle,  Curtis Heath.
EMOD 18 LAP  1  Jonathan Taylor,  Alyssa Rowe,.  Dave Brown,  Dacron Powell,  Bill Pluta,  Rich
 Goodmasn,  Brandon Lasalle,  Justin Milburn,  Drake Troutman,  John Whitfield,  .   ,    Ed Vogel,  Jamie Kohan,  Mike Altibelli Sr,  Mike Meck,  Vic Vandergrift,  Ken Singer,  Beau Aikey,  Todd Goss
SEMI LATE  15 LAPS  1  Jesse Snyder,  Bob Jay,  Travis Calhoun,  Bill Replogle,  Dave Whetstone,  Boyd Brode,  Brian Weyandt Jr,  Brandon Hoover,  Cale Martin,  Jarrod Brown,  Tom Brady,  Tom Warren,  
4 CYLINDER  12 LAPS  1  Casey Fleele,  Darren Howsare,  Wayne Brenize  Kolby Crawley,  Corey McKenzie,  Mike McDonald,  Chris Reckner,  Todd Price,  Bruce Beters,  Dave Reaugh,  David Heiring,  Bryan Ickes,  Dave Harclerode,  Donald Betres Phil Best,    DNS  Rusty Martin.