Bedford Speedway ยป 2017 Results


July 1st, 2017
   Bedford Speedway outran the rain and Matt Cosner outran the field to take the Milt Miller Tribute event Friday night at Bedford.  It was Cosner’s second consecutive win in the Miller Classic and his second Bedford win of the season.  In other action, usual class winners Bob Jay and Wayne Brenize took wins in the Semi Late and 4 Cylinder events,   while Beau Aikey scored his first ever EMod win
   Jeff Rine and Andy Haus brought the field to the green for the 35 lap Miller Tribute.  Rine, who is used to starting deep in the Bedford fields due to point averaging, seized the opportunity of the front row start and took immediate command.  Over the first 20 all green flag laps, Rine built up a decent lead over the field, lapping up to the 14th place car.  
    Haus continued in second ahead of a battle for third among Dan Angellichio, Jason Covert and Matt Cosner.  Cosner emerged with third on lap 11 and set out after Haus as the gang entered lapped traffic.
Cosner took second from Haus on lap 14 and was there when the first caution flew for a Kyle Hardy crash in turn one.  
    Several quick cautions followed that action, but when the field settled down to consecutive green flag lap racing, Cosner stalked Rine lap after lap while Haus and Covert battled for third.   Cosner finally struck by sweeping by Rine for the lead as they completed lap 29.  From that point on, Cosner opened up over the field, racing to a $3500 win.   Rine held on for second, while Haus held off Covert for third.  Alex Ferree came on late to take the fifth spot.  
    Covert, Cosner and Dale Hollidge won the heats.
    Drake Troutman led the first few EMod laps which featured a caution per lap for the first few laps.  Beay Aikey got by on lap three and Troutman found himself in the clutches of Alyssa Rowe.  Rowe took until lap 15 to get by Troutman and set off after Aikey.  In the last three laps she closed quickly but fell short at the line.  
    At the finish it was Aikey, scoring the first EMod win of his career, ahead of Rowe, Troutman and Mike Alktobelli Sr who started 13th.  John Whitfield was fifth.  Chris Rudolph and Brandon Lasalle won the heats.
    Bill Replogle was the early Semi Late leader.  But after a few laps, Jesse Snyder emerged from the pack and was running him down.  Bob Jay arrived from his 7th starting spot and ran them both down to make it a 3 way battle.
    But on lap 6, Snyder had a flat tire and brought out the caution.   After that, Jay was alone in chasing Replogle and finally got by on lap 11.  From that point on Jay ran off to the win over Replogle.  Travis Calhoun rallied for third, ahead of Brian Weyandt and Tom Brady.  Jay and Replogle won the heats.
    Michael McDonald led the 4 Cylinder event early until Wayne Brenize got by on lap 4.  Contact between the cars loosened Brenize’s rear bumper cover but it stayed attached for the duration of the event as Brenize ran off to the win.  McDonald was second ahead of Darren Howsare Chris Graybill and Phil Best.  Josh Fetters and McDonald won the heats.
   Just as Brenize rolled into Victory Lane, the rain,  which had threatened all night, began to fall.
LATE MODEL 35 LAPS  1  Matt Cosner,  Jeff Rine,  Andy Haus,  Jason Covert,  Alex Ferree,  Dale Hollidge,  Mason Zeigler,  Dan Angellichio,  Chuck Clise,  Chad Hollenbeck,  Ross Robinson,  Matt Sponaugle,  Curtis Heath,  Colby Frye,  Marr Parks,  Kyle Hardy,  Jeff Miller,  Gene Knaub,  Wayne Johnson,  Larry Baer,  DJ Troutman,  Travis Stickley,  Mike Altobelli Jr,  Dave Troutman,
EMOD 18 LAPS  1  Beau Aikey,  Alyssa Rowe,  Drake Troutman,  Mike Altobelli Sr,  John Whitfield,  Bill Pluta,  Chris Rudolph,  Justin Milburn,  Mike Meck,  Rich Goodman,  Darrell Edwards,  Brandon Lasalle,  Brian Fyfe,  Dan Lawry,  DNS  Ed Vogel
SEMI LATES 15 LAPS  1  Bob Jay,  Bill Replogle,  Travis Calhoun,  Brian wyandt,  Tom Brady,  Boyd Brode,  Cale Martin,  Dave Whetstone,  Joshua Bloom,  Brandon Hoover,  Jesse Snyder,  Jarrod Brown
4 CYLINDER 12 LAPS  1  Wayne Brenize,  Michael McDonald,  Darren Howsare,  Chris Graybill,  Phil Best,  Todd price,  Steven Martin,  Nathan Gilliland,  Bryan Ickes,  Kolby Crawley,  Josh Fetters,  DNS  Chris Shrout,  Steve Frederick,  Chris Reckner