Bedford Speedway » 2023 Results


April 8th, 2023

Drake Troutman rallied late to take the Late Model win in the first 2023 Friday show on a cold night  in Bedford.  Devin Hart held off a late race challenge after dominating most of the event to score the Limited win.   In other action, John Miller took the Semi Late event, Cody Jarvie was the Pure Stock winner and Shawn Smith  closed the evening with a 4 Cylinder win.

By the luck of the draw on the pill draw event, track champion Jeff Rine was the pole sitter and early leader.   He blasted away from Bryan Bernheisel and Kyle Hardy early   Fourth place starter Drake Troutman moved in on Hardy and Bernheisel, taking third on lap two.   After a few laps of battling with Bernheisel, he slipped by for second on lap 5 and set off after Rine.    The gap remained constant for several laps, but eventually he began to close on Rine and challenged.    On lap 18, Troutman got by for the lead and held for the finish.   Rine held on for second ahead of Bernheisel, Hardy and Matt Cosner as the top 5 distanced themselves from the field in the all green flag event.   Rine and Troutman won the heats.


Like Rine, Devin Hart drew the pole for the Limited event and blasted away at the start.   He opened up a huge margin as Matt Parks and Shawn Shoemaker moved into second and third positions early.  But busy battling with each other for position, that pair watched as Hart just pulled away further each lap.  Parks secured second from Shoemaker but had to withstand intense pressure to keep the spot.


A late race caution closed the field on Hart and Parks made a valiant effort to steal the win but Hart prevailed at the line.   Parks and Shoemaker stayed much closer over the last few laps but trailed the winner in that order.  Devin Frey and Ryan Sager completed the top 5.   Hart and Shoemaker won the heats.


After leading all but the last few feet of the prior Semi Late event,  Greg Hainsey started out this one the same way.   He opened up an early lead but within a few laps the hounds were coming, led by Travis Calhoun and John Miller.


Miller was the first to catch Hainsey and he attacked, finally getting by on lap 8.   Calhoun also got by Hainsey and applied the pressure on Miller.    Over the last half of the event,  Miller was pressured but hung on for the win.  Calhoun was second, Nick Bechtel, who came from ninth, Brian Weyandt Jr and Josh Bumberger trailed.  Devin Weyant and Brian Weyandt won the heats.


Pole sitter Cody Jarvie got the drop on the Pure Stock field but did not have a moment of peace doing it,  He got by Dalton Weyandt at the start but Weyant was all over him every lap. While that was going on at the front, Charlie Clise was slithering forward,   He eased by Kyle Becket for third, then injected himself into the battle up front.   He snared second on lap nine and gave Jarvie all he could handle.


Clise acturally led lap  11 but Jarvie stood firm and took it back.   At the end, Clise fell short as Jarvie took the narrow win.   Weyant held on for third ahead of Dalton Ritchey and  Denver Dishong.  Jarvie and Clise won the heats.


The 4 Cylinder finale was action packed.  Shawn Smith started on the pole and led all the way,  but traffic behind him was wild as four, five and six cars went at it for second.  As the gang traded spots every lap in hand to hand combat, the inevitable happened on lap nine as a grinding crash took place in turn 3, brnging out a lengthy red. On the restart, things calmed down a but  Smith suddenly had Colin Welsh to contend with.  Welsh made a gallant effort but fell short at the line, finishing second.  Smith and Darren Howsare won the heats.


LATE MODEL 25 LAP    Drake Troutman,   Jeff Rine,  Bryan Bernheisel,  Kyle Hardy,  Matt Cosner,  Brian Booze,  Eddie Carrier,  Kyle Lee,  Justin Weaver,   Matt Sponaugle,  Deshawn Gingrich,  Chuck Clise,  Wayne Johnson,   Colton Flinner  DNS  Michael Lake,  Dylan Lewis


LIMITED 20 LAPS   Devin Hart,  Matt Parks,  Shawn Shoemaker,  Devin Frey,  Ryan Sager,  Madeline Miller,  Matt Murphy,  Wes Bonebrake,  Harry Shipe,  Lucas Adams,  Kaiden Bard,  Brian Lowery,  Brandon Bowman,  Bryan Benton,  Devin Weyandt,  Tyler Ritchey,  Laura Reully.


SEMI LATE 15 LAPS  John Miller,  Travis Calhoun,  Nick Bechtel,  Brian Weyandt J,    Josh Bumberger,  Andrew Stough,  Greg Hainsey,  Kyle Weyandt,  Kyle Deneen,  Bill Replogle,  Laura Chamberlain,   Bob Torquato.  Laura Reilly,  Brandon Grubb,  DNS  Bob Jay


PURE STOCK  15 LAP  Cody Jarvie,  Charlie Clise,  Dalton Weyant,  Dalton Ritchey,  Denver Dishong,  Brad Bookwalter,  Darion Ritchey,  Kyle Beckett,  Jay Talley,  Derek Hinish,    Dominik Weyandt,  Cody King,  Madison Miller,  Brandon Mongold


4 CYLINDER 12 LAPS  Shawn Smith  Colin Welsh,  Brad Marker,  Darren Howsare,  Josh Corbin,  Harlan Group,  Jeff Marlett,  Ernie Hewitt,  Hayden Kline,  Matt Kauffman,  Duane Wotring,  Jimmy Delozier, Richard Athey,  Casey Fleegle,  Dalton long,  Derek Long,  Todd Price,  George Shore  DNS  Karl Bailey.