Bedford Speedway » 2010 Results


July 17th, 2010

By: Dave Harclerode

BEDFORD, PA –  The Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsmen Tour made their annual visit to the Bedford Speedway Friday night, and Jason Fry picked up his first ever victory at the big oval.  Coleby Frye thrilled fans with a daring pass to take his second win of the season in as many visits in the Super Late Models, and Brian Lessley earned his second career Bedford victory in the Limited Late Models.  Brian Duffy earned his fourth win of the season in the Street Stocks, and Andrew Pluta won in the 4 Cylinders.

 Enola, Pa’s Jason Fry started fourth in the the Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsmen Tour main event and made a late race pass to take the checkers.  Twenty-one cars took the green, and there was immediate mayhem on the frontstretch.  Several cars piled up, and usual front runner Frankie Herr and Stan Wanner were eliminated from action.  When racing action resumed, Russ Mitten jumped into the lead and held the point position for the majority of the race.  A late race caution bunched the field, and Jason Fry made his move on the restart.  Fry worked past Mitten, as well as third running Rich Eichelberger.  At the finish, it was Fry, Rich Eichelberger, Mitten, Carmen Perigo, Jr., and Mike Enders finished fifth.  Rounding out the top ten was Dave Socks, John Garman, Paul Miller, Duaine Smith, and Ryan Rupp.  Dave Berkheimer and Russ Mitten won the preliminary heats.

In Super Late Model action, Dover, Pa’s Coleby Frye took top honors in exciting fashion.  Jeff Rine and Larry Wright led the field to the green, and Rine snagged the lead on the first lap.  Running the high side, Rine held a slim margin over Jeremy Miller and Coleby Frye.  The top three wasted no time catching lapped traffic, and the trio picked through the back of the field with precision.  With ten to go, Rine, Miller, and Frye were inches apart as they caught a lapped car entering turn three.  Third running Frye made a daring move, splitting the top two and blasting past the lapped car.  Frye ran the cushion, and maintained a several car length lead until the finish.  Miller got by Rine and ended up second, and Jack Pencil and Matt Parks completed the top five.  Sixth through ten went to Shawn Claar, Greg Fetters, Larry Wright, Jeff Miller, and Chuck Clise.  Rine and Miller won the heats.

Brian Duffy took the lead from Dave Brown with two laps to go in a very exciting Street Stock feature.  Brown started first and appeared to have the race in hand as he maintained a 5 car length lead over a mass of cars battling for second.  Duffy, Bob Jay, Bill Henney, Jesse Snyder, and Jim Sayler had fans on their feet for the entire race.  Duffy became the eventual winner, Brown settled for second, Henney third, Jay fourth, and Sayler fifth.  Snyder, Donald Wyles, Daryl Whetstone, Cody Buterbaugh, and Zane Weicht.  Sayler and Brown won the heat events.

Andrew Pluta took the checkers in 4 Cylinder action.  Following Pluta to the line was Juan Reyan, Mike Lauffer, James Best, and Steve Frederick.  Pluta and Lauffer won the heats.

 The Speedway is off next Friday, and will return to action on Friday July 30th for the Koontz/Beamer Memorial Fair Race.  Call the speedway office at 814-623-0500 for more information, or visit for more details.


FEATURE:  1.  Jason Fry  2. Rich Eichelberger  3. Russ Mitten  4. Carmen Perigo, Jr.  5. Mike Enders  6. Dave Socks  7. John Garman (Tri-State Racing Photos Hard Charger)  8. Paul Miller  9. Duaine Smith  10. Ryan Rupp  11. Jay Fannasy  12. Aaron Eichelberger  13. Ken Keyton  14. Gregg Foster (DNF)  15. Bobby Hockenberry (DNF)  16. Dave Berkheimer (DNF)  17. Jim Hulze (DNF)  18. John Wolfe (DNF)  19. Rick Barr (DNF)  20. Stan Wanner (DNF)  21. Frankie Herr (DNF)

DNS:  Scott Dellinger

HEAT 1:  Barr, Fry, Foster

HEAT 2:  Mitten, A. Eichelberger, Wanner


FEATURE:  1. Coleby Frye  2. Jeremy Miller  3. Jeff Rine  4. Jack Pencil 5. Matt Parks  6. Shawn Claar  7. Greg Fetters  8. Larry Wright  9. Jeff Miller (Tri-State Racing Photos Hard Charger)  10. Chuck Clise  11. Eric Zembower  12. Derek Byler  13. Mason Zeigler (DNF)  14. Ryan Christoff (DNF)  15. Randy Burkholder (DNF)  16. Alan Sagi (DNF)

DNS:  Bo Feathers, Allen Lemin

HEAT 1:  Rine, Frye, Clise

HEAT 2:  Jeremy Miller, Claar, Parks


FEATURE:  1.  Brian Lessley  2. Daniel Cornman  3. Matt Howsare  4. Robbie Black  5. Tim Smith, Jr.  6. Donnie Farlling  7. Grant Adams  8. Ralph Morgan, Jr.  9. Rance Garlock (Tri-State Racing Photos Hard Charger)  10. Lincoln Ritchey  11. Travis Calhoun  12. Matt Cosner  13. Eddie Cornett  14. Eric Irvan  15. Darrell Dick  16. Tommy Slanker  17. Corey Weaver (DNF)  18. Craig Perigo (DNF)  19.  Coleby Frye (DNF)  20.  Maurice Thompson (DNF)  21. Rick Singleton (DNF)  22. Matt Sponaugle (DNF)

 HEAT 1:  Howsare, Lessley, Adams

HEAT 2:  Smith, Singleton, Cosner

HEAT 3:  Farlling, Cornman, Black 


FEATURE:  1.  Brian Duffy (Tri-State Racing Photos Hard Charger)  2. Dave Brown  3. Bill Henney  4. Bob Jay  5. Jim Sayler  6. Jesse Snyder  7. Donald Wyles  8. Daryl Whetstone  9. Cody Buterbaugh  10. Zane Weicht  11. Kerry Molovich  12. Matt Adams (DNF)

 HEAT 1:  Sayler, Jay, Molovich

HEAT 2:  Brown, Duffy, Henney


FEATURE:  1.  Andrew Pluta  2. Juan Reyan  3. Mike Lauffer  4. James Best  5. Steve Frederick  6. Cindy Rhodes  7. Paul Crynock, Jr.  8. Ralph Miller  9. Jeremy Miller  10. Paul Crynock, III (Tri-State Racing Photos Hard Charger)  11. Davey Lambert  12. John Gephart  13. Phil Best  14. Ronnie Valentine  15. John Lamer  16. Ryan Beckett 17. Kris Hedge  18. Casey Fleegle (DNF)  19. Matt Winegardner (DNF)

DNS:  Rick Lamer

HEAT 1: Pluta, Rhodes, Reyan 

HEAT 2:  Lauffer, Valentine, Frederick