Bedford Speedway » 2010 Results


August 14th, 2010

By: Dave Harclerode

BEDFORD, PA –  It was the Bedford/Cumberland shootout Friday night at the Bedford Speedway, and Matt Parks made Friday the 13th lucky by winning the Super Late Model main event.  Robbie Black won his 2nd feature event in the Limited Late Models, and Jim Sayler took home the checkers in the Street Stocks.  Charlie Walter returned to victory lane in the Hobby Stocks after a rough mid-season stretch and Jeff Treece won his first ever feature at Bedford in the 4 Cylinders.

In Super Late Model action, Matt Parks started on the outside pole and assumed the lead on the first lap.  It wasn’t long until the top five broke free from the pack, with Nick Dickson hounding Parks for the lead, Jack Pencil third, Jeff Rine fourth, and Scott Haus fifth.  With Parks on the top side, and Dickson on the bottom, the pair ran side by side lap after lap.  With five laps to go, the top five caught the tail of the field.  This allowed Pencil to join the top two for a battle for the top spot, but Parks prevailed at the checkered.  Dickson followed closely in second and Pencil third.  Rine and Haus completed the top five, and Derek Byler, Greg Fetters, Jeff Miller, Andy Fries, and Shawn Claar finished out the top ten.  Rine and Parks won the heats.  The feature event went 25 laps without caution.

Friday the 13th reared its ugly head in the Limited Late Model feature.  Darrell Dick took the lead at the drop of the green and looked to have the race in hand.  Dick dominated for most of the race, but 8th starting Matt Sponaugle was on the move.  The pair ran side by side for several laps, and then disaster struck with two laps to go.  With Dick on the outside, and Sponaugle on the inside, the pair made significant contact in turn 4.  The result was Darrell’s mount facing the wrong direction, and Sponaugle sent to the rear.  Robbie Black assumed the lead on the restart, and held on for the win over Mike Altobelli, Jr., Tim Smith, Jr., Donnie Farlling, and Matt Howsare.  Sixth through tenth went to Brian Lowery, Andy Teno, Rance Garlock, Rick Singleton, and Matt Cosner.  Heats went to Daniel Cornman, Matt Sponaugle, and Darrel Dick. 

Jim Sayler earned his third feature win of the year in the Street Stocks.  It was a typical grade a style Street Stock Feature, with action all through the pack.  Bill Henney took the lead from his pole starting position, and led until Sayler stole the lead with five to go.  Henney ended the night in second, Brian Duffy third, Jamey Swank fourth, and Daryl Whetstone fifth.  Jesse Snyder, Chris Chamberlain, Kerry Molovich, Zane Weicht, and Cody Buterbaugh completed the top ten.  Sayler and Henney won the heat events.

Jeff Treece earned his first ever win in the 4 cylinders over Andrew Pluta, Jeremy Miller, James Best, and Cindy Rhodes.  Miller and Mike Lauffer won the preliminary heats.

 The URC Sprint Cars will be in town next Friday for their annual visit to the track, continuing a long standing tradition.  The Super Late Models will also be on hand, racing for $2,000 to win.  Also appearing will be the Street Stocks, Hobby Stocks and 4 Cylinders.  Gates open at 4:30.  Racing action will start 30 minutes early, with hot laps at 6:15.   General admission is $20, and the pits are $30.  Call the speedway office at 814-623-0500 for more information, or visit for more details.


FEATURE:  1.  Matt Parks  2. Nick Dickson   3. Jack Pencil  4. Jeff Rine  5. Scott Haus  6. Derek Byler  7. Greg Fetters  8. Jeff Miller  9. Andy Fries  10. Shawn Claar  11. Allen Lemin (DNF)  12. Randy Burkholder (DNF)  13. Chris Harr (DNS)

HEAT 1:  Rine, Haus, Pencil

HEAT 2:  Parks, Fetters, Burkholder


FEATURE:  1. Robbie Black  2. Mike Altobelli, Jr.  3. Tim Smith, JR.  4. Donnie Farlling  5. Matt Howsare  6. Brian Lowery  7. Andy Teno  8. Rance Garlock  9. Rick Singleton  10.  Matt Cosner  11. Brian Lessley  12. Craig Perigo  13. Eddie Cornett  14. Tyler Ritchey  15.  Eric Irvan  16.  Matt Sponaugle  17. Cory Weaver (DNF)  18.  Darrell Dick (DNF)  19. Daniel Cornman (DNF)  20. Travis Cottle (DNF)  21. Travis Fleegle (DNF) 

DNS:  Josh Berrier

HEAT 1:  Cornaman, Smith, Howsare

HEAT 2:  Sponaugle, Altobelli, Black

HEAT 3:  Dick, Singleton, Farlling


FEATURE:  1.  Jim Sayler  2. Bill Henney  3. Brian Duffy  4. Jamey Swank  5. Daryl Whetstone  6. Jesse Snyder  7. Chris Chamberlain  8. Kerry Molovich  9.  Zane Weicht  10. Cody Buterbaugh  11. Rich Swope 12. Greg Hainsey (DNF)  13. Travis Brown (DNF)  14. Dave Brown (DNF)

HEAT 1:  Sayler, Chamberlain, Whetstone

HEAT 2:  Henney, Hainsey, Swank


FEATURE:  1.  Charlie Walter  2. Travis Group  3. Doug Slick  4.  Chad Gambol  5. Terry Norris  6. Kenny Imler, Jr.  7. Reed Stickel  8. Lou Wannyn  9. Bill Replogle  10. Jarrod Brown  11. Justin Vaughn (DNF)  12. Chuck Weyant (DNF)  13. Rick Potter (DNF)

HEAT 1:  Group, Walter, Norris

HEAT 2:  Imler, Stickel, Slick


FEATURE:  1.  Jeff Treece  2. Andrew Pluta  3. Jeremy Miller  4. James Best  5. Cindy Rhodes  6. Casey Fleegle  7. Ralph Miller 8. Mike Lauffer  9. Paul Crynock, Jr.  10. Jon Gephart  11. Joel Vinglas, Jr.  12. Troy Imler  13. Phil Best  14. Kevin See (DNF)  15. Joe Means (DNF)  16. Juan Ryan (DNF)  17. Ronnie Valentine (DNF)  18. Steve Frederick (DNF)

HEAT 1: J. Miller, Treece, Ryan

HEAT 2:  Lauffer, Means, Crynock, Jr.