Bedford Speedway » News

Bedford Speedway Salutes 2012 Champions

September 11th, 2012

Bedford’s own Jack Pencil claimed his record 7th Late Model Championship this year. Combined with two Semi Late titles from the 90’s, this is Pencils 9th Bedford title overall. Pencil claimed three wins this year, giving him 31 Late Models wins total; good for second all-time behind Scott Haus. Pencil has had a storied Bedford career having claimed wins in four different divisions as well as having the most career wins at the track in all divisions combined.  

Second generation driver Mike Altobelli, Jr. of Saxton won his first Bedford title in the Late Model Sportsman division in 2012. Altobelli maintained a consistent pace running up front almost every week, with a June victory to his credit. With his first Bedford championship to his name, Altobelli now also ranks fourth in total Late Model Sportsman wins.      

Everett’s Zane Weicht put together fantastic 2012 campaign on his way to his first Semi Late Championship. After starting the season with no previous Semi Late victories, Weicht was a three time winner in 2012. This is Weicht’s second career Bedford title, his first coming in 1999 in the old Cruiser division.

 Terry Norris, of James Creek, claimed his third career Pure Stock Championship this season (‘01, ’02, ’12). In a highly competitive division Norris had one win this season adding to his career total of 10, good enough for 6th all time.

Everett’s Dave Lambert also won his first Bedford Championship, taking the honors in the always exciting Four Cylinder Buzzbomber division. Lambert had a great 2012 winning 3 times against tough competition.

All five champions, as well as the top ten point’s finishers in each division will be honored at the annual Bedford Banquet this winter. Details about the Banquet will be posted on this website when they become available.