Bedford Speedway » 2013 Results


July 27th, 2013
 Justin Kann scored the biggest win of his career Friday night  140th edition of the Great Bedford fair.   It was Kann’s second career Late Model win at Bedford with both coming in the 2013  season.  As thrilling as Kann’s win was, the emotional high  of the program  was young Matt Eckman,  who ran the race of his life to score his first ever Limited win before the packed house.  In other action, Jim Sayler,  Jonathan Taylor, Kyle Beckett and Andrew Pluta were also winners in the big fair night program.
     The Late Model event was wild even before the start as 13 cars piled up in turn 4 as the green flag dropped.  After that chaos was cleaned up, Shawn Claar was the early leader in the event.  Justin Kann shadowed Claar for 5 laps, but got a big break as Claar’s car shut off on lap 6.    On the restart Eric Zembower was second, holding off Andrew Haus,  Matt Sponaugle and a fast   climbing Matt Parks.  
     With the race going a lot of green laps,   the front three encountered lapped traffic after about lap 17.   As Kann gingerly picked through the cars,  Zembower and Sponaugle closed the gap.  But after clearing the cars.  Kann scooted away to score the big win.   Zembower took second in his best Bedford in several seasons, ahead of Sponaugle.  Parks made a last lap move to take fourth from Haus, ahead of Mike Altobelli, Matt Cosner, Jeff Miller and Jeff Rine.  DJ Troutman, Kann and Andy Haus won the heats.
      Matt Eckman started up front in the Limited event and led from the start.  But he had to withstand serious pressure to score the popular win.   Eckman was chased early on by Ron Bottenfield as everyone sorted out.   By about lap seven,  Robby Black was all over Bottenfield and Eckman slipped away.
    Black took second spot on lap 10  and actually got by briefly on lap 14 but Eckman did not fold.   Bottenfield  slipped by Black on lap 15 as the action heated up.   While they sorted things out,  Eckman  gained a bit of breathing room.  It all went out the window as Justin Vaughn spun on lap 17 setting up a one lap dash.  Although Black is great at restarts, Eckman did not fail and held on for the big win.  Black, Bottenfield, Donnie Farlling and Curtis Heath trailed.
    Like Eckman, Jim Saylor started up front  but had to withstand late lap pressure to win the Semi Late event.   For the second week in a row the Semi Late race was a slugfest as nine cautions slowed action.  Sayler led from the start ahead of Matt Krause.  Ultimately Lou Wannyn and Dave Whetstone got into the act and the gang ran together between caution slowdowns
    Wannyn moved into second on lap 11 and applied big time pressure to Sayler. But Sayler held on to score the win.  Wannyn, Krause, Whetstone and  Ryan Beckett trailed.
    Jonathan Taylor led from start to finish in the economodified event.  It was the fourth week in a row that Jonathan or brothre Evan Taylor won.   He beat Vic Vandergrift, Evan, Craig Ramich and Brandon Lasalle.
    Ed Vogel was the early Pure Stock leader, before action was red flagged on lap three as a huge wild crash on the backstretch led to two cars vaulting  and damaging the inside wall.     When action resumed. Vogel led a nine car mob until Kyle Beckett edged by on  lap six.   Terry Norris also slid by and was all over Beckett to the finish.  Dave Riley came all the way from ninth to join the party late but Beckett held on for the win.   Norris, Riley, Dave Lambert and Charlie Walter completed the top five.
    Nick Zborovancik led the first lap of the 4 Cylinder event before Pat  Breahm got by.   Andrew Pluta arrived at the front a lap later and Breahm and Pluta ran side by side for four laps trading the lead.  Pluta took over for good on lap 8 but then had to hold off a fast closing Ryan Peer to secure the win.  Robert Pluta,  Cale Martin and Nick Iski trailed.   With 33 cars in the pits a B feature was held top thin the starting field.  It was won by Jeff Vasos.   The B feature featured a flip by Jon Gephart, the third red flag of the wild evening..
LATE MODELS 25 LAPS 1   Justin Kann,  Eric Zembower,  Matt Sponaugle,  Matt Parks,  Andy Haus,  Mike Altobelli Jr,  Matt Cosner,  Jeff Miller,  Jeff Rine,  Chuck Clise,  Scott Haus,  Chris Harr,  Corey Weaver,  Dan Cornman,  Barry Miller,  Chaz Walls,  Travis Cottle,  John Myers,  Shawn Claar,  Alicia Fox,  DJ Troutman,  Wayne Johnson,  Rance Garlock,  Randall Paxton.
LIMITED 18 LAP  1  Matt Eckman,  Robby Black,  Ron Bottenfield,  Donnie Farlling,  Curtis Heath,  Kyle Lee,  Travis Calhoun,  Eic Irvin,  Troy Swindell,  Dion Lasalle,  Justin Wilson,  Mike Duck,  Willy Rowe,  Justin Vaughn,  Craig Perigo,  Bryan Benton,  Tyler Hite,  Derek Byler,  Larry Foor,  DJ Troutman,  Nathan Lasalle.
SEMI LATE  15  1  Jim Sayler,  Lou Wannyn,  Matt Krause,  Dave Whetestone,  Ryan Beckett,  George Beckett,  Bob Jay,  Brian Duffy,  Greg Hainsey,  Kerry Molovich,  Greg Cornell,  Mike Lauffer,  Jesse Snyder,  Rick Wright,  Jim Isner,  Jimm Sacco,  Chris Chamberlain,  Chris Cogan,  Scott Grubb,  Tom Wakefield,  Darryl Whetstone,  Buddy Fickes,  Vigi Zuccollotto,  DNS  Don Wyles, Dennis Collins.
ECONOMODIFIEDS1   Jonathan Taylor,  Viv Vandergrift,  Evan Taylor,  Craig Ramich,  Brandon Lasalle,  Justin Milburn,  Adam Daniels,  Matt Fulton,  Rob Varner,
PURE STOCK 12 LAPS  1  Kyle Beckett,  Terry Norris,  Dave Riley,  Dave Lambert,  Charlie Walter,  Travis Group,  Bill Noll,  Dave Green,  Kaydee Smith,  Tyler Clark,  Greg Beckett,  Mike Bowser,  Dkota Foor,  Travis Brown,  Bryan Norris,  Ed Vogel,  Brad Feight,  Bill Replogle,  Jarrod Brown,  Joe Means,  Brandon Fickes,  DNS  Mike Ott
4 CYLINDER  12 LAPS   1  Andrew Pluta,  Ryan Peer,  Robert Pluta,  Cale Martin,  Nick Iski,  Nick Zborovanicik,  Garrett Watkins,  EJ Johnson,   John Diehl,  Matt diehl,  Jeff Vasos,  John Brady,  Ryan Beckett,  Kieth Deeter,  Bailey Johnson,  Jack Theys,  Steve Frederick,  Rusty Martin,  Jordan Helsel,  John Costa,  Cindy Rhodes,
Nathan Altobelli,  Brandon Conrad,  Dustin Drake,  Pat Breahm,  Wayne Brenise,  DNS  Gary Watkins,  Phil Best, Mike Potter,  Matty Souers,  Stanley Muir,  Jon Gephart