Bedford Speedway » 2016 Results


July 9th, 2016
  Andy Haus used some late race luck to score the big Late Model win at Bedford Friday night.   Mark Smith used late race brute strength to take the lead, then a stroke of luck to secure the win in the companion URC portion of the event.  In other action, Lou Wannan too the Seni Late win, Bill Replogle won the Pure Stock race and Darren Howsare closed the evening with a 4 Cylinder win.

    Andy Haus brought the Late Model field to the green but it was DJ Troutman with the lead on the first lap.   After a quick lap three caution,  Troutman took off from the field, opening a margin over Haus as Dylan Yoder was climbing through the field.  Using the outside groove, Yoder was up to third by lap nine and closing in on Haus.
   The game changed on lap 16 as Troutman came to a stop on the backstretch, bringing out the caution.  That placed Haus in the lead with Yoder second.  Although Yoder had been closing fast before the caution,  Haus was able to speed away after the caution,  and he ran to a comfortable lead at the waving of the checkered ten laps later.  Yoder trailed in second, followed by Jeff Rine, Chuck Clise and Matt Sponaugle.  The Djs, Troutman and Myers, won the heats.
    When Robby Stillwagon drew the pole for the URC 25 lapper, most people figured the race was over as Stillwagon has dominated the URC events at the track in recent years.  As predicted, Stillwagon took off at the start as Mark Smith and Dave Franek battled for second spot.
    But that all changed when Josh Wellar stopped on the backstretch on lap 12 bringing out the caution.  On the restart, Mark Smith found new life and for six laps the pair ran side by side with Smith on the outside.   Each lap Smith boomed into the turns and forged ahead, while Stillwagon shot off the bottom on the straights.  Finally on lap 18, Smith reversed the strategy and came off turn two on the bottom, wrestling the lead away.
    Smith then ran off top a healthy lead before slowing slightly on the last lap, allowing Stillwagon to close slightly at the finish.  But luck came into play as after taking the checkered flag, Smith’s right rear tire went flat. Stillwagon was second, ahead of Franek, Curt Michael, and Troy Betts.  Franek and Betts won the heats.
    Bob Jay and Lou Wannyn led the Semi Late field to the green, then ran pretty much side by side for the first three laps.  Wannyn finally secured the top spot on lap four as Jay fell into the clutches of a six car mob battling for second.  Greg Cornell slithered through that mob to take third on lap seven,  and zipped Jay on lap 10.
    A late race caution on lap 13 changed a lot of the running order.  On that restart, third place Jay had a transmission break as the field went to green,  scattering everyone behind him in grinding mayhem.
    Cornell gave Wannyn a total effort but fell short at the finish line and settled for second.  Travis Calhoun, Tom Warren and Joe Pluta followed.  Greg Hainsey and Jesse Snyder won the heats.
   It took three tries to get the Pure Stock event underway and Tyler Ritchey led the first lap.  But both Terry Norris and Bill Replogle shot by on lap two.  Norris led lap two but Replogle led lap three.  Norris got credit for leading lap four, but Replogle was all over him.  Several laps they went side by side until Replogle secured the spot on lap nine.   After that, Replogle ran off to the win.   Norris was second followed by Dave Lambert, Brad Feight and Joe Dearmitt, who came from 20th.
Norris, Beau Aikey and Preston Imler won the heats.
   It was a 4 car breakaway in the 4 Cylinder event.  Darren Howsare led the distance but was hounded by Ryan Peer, Tom Brady and Wayne Brenize before they finished in that order.  Dave Harclerode was fifth.  Peer and Brenize won the heats.
lATE MODEL 25 LAPS  1  Andy Haus,  Dylan Yoder,  Jeff Rine,  Chuck Clise,  Matt Sponaugle,  Rick Singleton,  Eric Zembower,  Curtis Heath,  Jarred Yantos,  dJ Troutman,  Quint Weyant,  Travis Wilson,  Dacron Powell,  DJ Myers,  DNS  Tyler Horst
URC 25 LAPS  1  Mark Smith,  Robbie Stillwagon,  Dave Franek,  Curt Michael,  Troy Betts,  Adam Carberry,  Jimmy Stitzel,  Justin Whitfall,  Keith Prutzman,  Brett MichelskiWill Eggiman,  Jason Cherry,  Jason Claus  Josh Wellar
SEMI LATE 15 LAP  1  Lou Wannyn,  Greg Cornell,  Travis Calhoun,  Tom Warren,  Joe Pluta,  Greg Hainsey,  Bob Jay,  Jesse Snyder,  Donald Wyles,  Justin Michaels,  Chad Gambol,  Dan Cornman,  Dave Whetstone
PPURE STOCKS  15 LAP  1  Bill  Replogle,  Terry Norris,  Dave Lambert,  Brad Feight,  Joe Dearmitt,  Travis Group,  Beau Aikey,  Denny Pittman,  Reed Stickel,  Trent Clark,  Barry Weyandy,  Justin Queen,  Dan Jackson,  Josh McClellan,  Owen Baughman,  David Beahr,  Erik Weyandt,  Brad Hoffman,  Dakota Foor,  Preston Imler,  Matt Brode,  Justin Rosenberger,  James Foor,  Tyler Ritchey,  Nick Bechtell,  Kyle Weyandt.
4 CYLINDER  12 LAPS  1  Darren Howsare,  Ryan Peer,  Tom Brady,  Wayne Brenize,  Dave HarclerodeTyler Beckett,  Keith Deeter,  Kolby Crawley,  Chris Reckner,  Chris Knight,  Steve Frederick,  Phil Best,  Skyler Sheetz,  Chris Shrout,  Josh Fetter, Todd Price,  Cale Martin,   DNS  Morgan Price  DQ  Harold Crawford.