Bedford Speedway » 2016 Results


September 18th, 2016

Matt Cosner capped off a tremendous late season run with another big win on the first night of Bedford’s season ending FallFest Friday night.  It was Cosner’s fifth Bedford Late Model win in a row and sixth out of the last seven events at the track.  Cosner’ s hot streak ties the 25 year old record of Rick Eckert, who also had five in a row.   Wayne Brenize won the 4 Cylinder Friday night finale.

    Rick Singleton and Dave Troutman brought the field to the green for the 25 lapper and Singleton got the jump at the start.  Singleton shot away from the field, opening up a huge advantage over the first ten laps.   Cosner started sixth in the field and had only moved up one position by lap 10.  
     But Cosner suddenly came alive.  He got by Matt Sponaugle on lap 12 and Jeff Rine  a lap later.  He was all over Troutman in lapped traffic a lap later.   When Tom Decker III drifted to a halt in turn three on lap 18, he brought out the only caution of the event..
    That caution not only closed the field on Singleton, but gave Cosner a shot at Troutman without any lapped cars around.  He made the best of the turn of events, and pounced on Troutman, getting by on lap 19.   With Singleton running way outside, Cosner took to the bottom in his chase for the lead.  After two laps of side by side racing, Cosner got the advantage and moved ahead to the lead on lap 23.   Cosner then pulled out over the last two laps for the historic win.
     Singleton settled for second, ahead of Troutman, Rine and DJ Troutman.   Sponaugle and Rine won the heats.
    Track Champion Wayne Brenize started on the pole and ran off from the slim field for the 4 Cylinder win.  He beat Denny Pittman and Todd Price for his sixth win of the season.
  LATE MODELS 25 LAPS  1  Matt Cosner,  Rick Singleton, Dave Troutman,  Jeff Rine,  DJ Troutman,  Chuck Clise,  Matt Sponaugle,  Chad McClellan,  Darris Deneen,  Tom Decker Jr,  Dylan Yoder,  Patrick Bryner,  Tom Decker III Dale Claycomb
4 CYLINDER  12 LAP  1  Wayne Brenize,  Denny Pittman,  Todd Price,  Tyler Birchfield,  Josh Fetters,  Chris Reckner,  Cale Martin.