Bedford Speedway ยป 2017 Results


April 29th, 2017
     Defending track champion Jeff Rine scored his first 2017 Late Model win at Bedford Friday night.  It was Rine’s first Bedford win since August 2015 and the 21st of his career, moving him into a fifth place tie with Tom Peck.  In other Action,  George Dixon was the recipient of good luck to score his first ever Limited win,  Jesse Snyder took his second consecutive Semi Late win , Evan Taylor won the EMod event before Darren Howsare took the 4 Cylinder finale.
    By the luck of the draw in the special event, Jeff Rine and Matt Cosner found themselves on the front row for the Late Model event.  After some first turn first lap chaos. Rine emerged with the lead while Cosner fell back to fifth.  Over the first 13 all green flag laps, Rine moved out to a huge advantage over DJ Troutman and Chuck Clise, but that was wiped out.
    On the restart, Rine again roared away, but Troutman and Clise found themselves under attack from Cosner.  Cosner got Clise on lap 15 and set off after Troutman.   Cosner finally made the move for second, getting by Troutmsn on the last lap,  but Rine was on his way to the win.  Cosner rallied for second, ahead of Troutman, Clise and Matt Sponaugle. Rine and Chad Hollenbeck won the heats.
      The Limited event started off rather raggedly as 5 cars piled up in turn one.   On the second attempt, Justin Weaver took off and ran from the field.  Behind Weaver, George Dixon, Ralph Morgan and eventually Robby Black battled hard for positions.
   But on lap 13, with a half lap lead over the field, Weaver’s car began to show smoke.   When the caution flew a lap later the smoke intensified.  A light mist elongated the yellow with Weaver’s car trailing wisps of smoke each lap.  When the field came off turn 4 fr the restart, Weaver did not go, causing mass chaos in his wake with a lot of contact.
      With the yellow back out, Weaver retired, Dixon inherited the lead and the race was on.  Dixon held off Morgan over the last 6 laps for the win. Black was third followed by Curtis Heath Donnie Farlling and Eric Irvin.  Farlling and Morgan won the heats.
    Due to a low point average, Evan Taylor started on the EMod pole with predictable results.  He Tore off at the start and never looked back.  Alyssa Rowe secured second on lap 8 after a battle with Drake Troutman and Beau Aikey took third on lap 10.  
    Things changed drastically when the yellow flew on lap 15.  Rowe experienced motor issues and headed pitward, while Aikey pitted with overheating issues.  On the restart, Taylor again ran away for the win.  Dave Brown rallied late to grab second, ahead of Ken Singer, Bill Pluta and Dacron Powell.   Troutman and Brown won the heats.
    In the best race of the evening, Brandon Hoover led the Semi Late race for 12 laps.  He held off viscious challenges from Bill Replogle early and they were soon joined by Boyd Brode Jesse Snyder.
Lap after lap the four front runners ran in a herd as Hoover hung on.   But on lap 13, Snyder found an opening and forged into the lead.
     Positions were up for grabs as Snyder raced to the win.  Brode wrestled his way into second at the line, followed by ninth starter Dave Whetstone, Replogle and Hoover.  Bob Jay and Brian Weyandt won the heats.
   Chris Reckner was the early 4 Cylinder leader but he attracted a crowd.  Darren Howsare took over on lap 3 but could not shake the gang.  Reckner crashed on the last lap setting up a dash for the finish.  Casey Fleegle made the most of that turn of events and snagged the win from Howsare at the line.  However Fleegle failed post race tech and Howsare was the winner.  He was followed by Wayne Brenize, Cory McKenzie and Todd Price.  Fleegle and Howsare won the heats.
-LATE MODEL 25 LAP  1  Jeff Rine,  Matt Cosner,  DJ Troutman,  Chuck Clise,  Matt sponaugle,  Chad Hollenbeck,  Curtis Heath,  Mike Altobelli Jr,  Dave Troutman,  Nathan Lasalle
LIMITED 20 LAP  1  George Dixon,  Ralph Morgan,  Robby Black,  Curtis Heath,  Donnie Farlling,  Eric Irvin,  Kadden Smith,  Matt Nailor,  Greg Cornell,  Devin Weyandt,  Eddie Cornett,  Justin Weaver,  Taylor Farlling,  Brian Lowery,  Cody Buterbaugh,  Peter Neuder,  DNS  Ron Bottenfield
EMOD 18 LAP  1  Evan Taylor,  Dave Brown,  Ken Singer,  Bill Pluta,  Dacron Powell,  Mike Altobelli Sr,  Justin Milburn,  Ryan Peer,  John Whitfield,   Beau Aikey,  Mike Meck,  Brian Fyfe,  Alyssa Rowe,  Drake Troutman,  Rich Goodman,  Dan Lawry,  
SEMI LATES 15 LAPS 1  Jesse Snyder,  Boyd Brode,  Dave Whetstone,  Bill Replogle,  Brandon Hoover,  Tom Brady,  Travis Calhoun,  Bob Jay,  Cale Martin,  Brian Weyandt Jr,  Tom Warrern,  Mark Patterson.
4 CYLINDER  1  Darren Howsare,  Wayne Brenize,  Cory McKenzie,  Todd Price,  Phil Best,  Rusty Martin,  Shawn Miller,  Chris Shrout,  Brian Ickes,  Chris Reckner,  Nathan Gilliland,  Kolby Crawley,  Steve Frederick,  DQ  Casey Fleegle, Bailey Johnson.