Bedford Speedway ยป 2018 Results


August 13th, 2018

   For the second time over the weekend, Bedford defied ominous weather predictions and completed an entire program.  Among the happy winners was Kadden Smith, who scored his career first track Limited win with a dramatic last lap move.  Other winners were Ryan Lynn in the 305 sprints, Bob Jay in the Semi Lates and Wayne Brenize in the 4 cylinder closer,

    Clinton Hersh was the Limited pole sitter and streaked off to the early lead.  Over the first half of the event he pulled out to a substantial lead over Kadden Smith as the field strung out.  As the race crossed the half way point still caution free,  Smith began noticeable closing a bit on the lead Hersh had built up.   

    But as Smith closed, Ryan Sager was catching them both.  And more importantly, Justin Weaver who started eighth, was catching them all.  Weaver got by Dylan Lewis for fourth on lap 17 and a lap later was all over Ryan Sager.  As the field got the two to go signal,  Smith had run down Hersh for the lead but Sager and Weaver were side by side right behind them.

    Weaver disposed of Sager on lap 19 and the three leaders went three together down the backstretch on the last lap.  All bets were off as they entered turn three, but Smith made the commanding move and snared the lead, streaking off to the win.   Hersh held off the furious charge of Weaver and salvaged second at the line.  Sager and Lewis completed the top five.  Weaver and Greg Moore won the heats.

    By comparison, Ryan Lynn made the 305 feature a cake walk.  He started on the front row and led the 20 lap distance without challenge.  While Lynn  led easily, all eyes were on Jonathan Jones,  who methodically worked his way forward from ninth starting spot.

    In the race which saw only two very early cautions, Jones struggled for a few laps before finding the far outside groove and rocketing forward,  He blew by Tyler Denochik for third on lap 12 and Randy Sterling for second on lap 17.  But the laps ran out on Jones,  who settled for a fast closing second at the line.   Sterling, Denichik and Roy Aurand completed the top five.  Sterling and Drew Ritchey won the heats,

     Bob Jay took the lead at the start and dominated the Semi Late 15 lapper.   Behind Jay a gang of five cars fought to be the challenger, with Mark Patterson running second until Brian Weyandt Jr got by on lap 8.  Weyandt was no more successful at running Jay down than Patterson had been,  settling for second at the finish.  Patterson, Greg Hainsey and Bill Replogle completed the top 5.   Patterson and Weyandt won the heats.

    The 4 Cylinder closer was a barn burner. Rusty Martin then Bill Shehan led early, but chronic event winner Wayne Brenize moved in by lap 8.   Shehan held Brenize off until the last lap when Brenize slipped by to grab yet another win.  Shehan led Martin, Todd Price and Chris Grabil across the line.  Dustin Kinser and Graybill won the heats.


LIMITED  20 LAPS  1  Kadden Smith,  Clinton Hersh,  Justin Weaver,  Ryan Sager,  Dylan Lewis,  Greg Moore,  Brad McGinnis,  Eddie Cornett,  Taylor Farrling,  Brian lowery,  Brad Feight,  Greg Cornell,  Curtis Heath,  Ron Bottenfield,  Tyler Ritchey,  Devin Weyandt,  Cory Lawler,  


305 SPRINT  20 LAP  1  Ryan Lynn,  Jonathan Jones,  Randy Sterling,  Tyler Denochik,  Roy Aurand,  Drew Ritchey,  Dylan Shatzer,  Scott Lutz,  Kyle Ganoe,  Roger Irvine,  Seve Kennewell,  Ray Sheetz,  Eric Husick,  Colt Lepley,  Jim Kennedy,  Reed Thompson,


SEMI LATE 15 LAP  1  Bob Jay,  Brian Weyandt Jr,  Mark Patterson,  Greg Hainsey,  Bill Replogle,  Travis Calhoun,  Jesse Snyder,  Tom Brady,  Ryan Whisel,  Chris Wolfe,  Kyle Weyant,  Scott Sturtz,  


4 CYLINDER 12 LAP  1  Wayne Brenize,  Bill Shehan,  Rusty Martin,  Todd Price,  Chris Graybill,  Wyatt Marker,  Dustin Kinser,  Dominick Shipley,  Steve Frederick,  Karl Bailey,  Eric Zimmerman,  Kenneth Wilson,  Isaac Karmanski,  DNS  Ernie Hewitt Jr