Bedford Speedway » 2022 Results


July 9th, 2022

One day short of a year since his last Bedford win,  Chuck Clise snagged the win in the 25 lap Late Model feature at Bedford Friday night.   It was Clise’s 8th career win at the track and he became the seventh different winner in the nine 2022 events so far.

The Pure Stocks ran their longest richest and most prestigious event of the season, the Charlie Walter 42 lap memorial and  Kyle Deneen  ended a season of frustration with that big win.  Mike Altobelli swept to another EMod win,  before Todd Price was the surprise 4 Cylinder winner.


Charlie Clise, after a season of mechanical woes, crashes and one trip up in the air, was rewarded with a low average front row start.   He shot by pole sitter Nathan Lasalle and then ran 25 perfect  laps, pulling away from the field.  With only a single caution,  for a blown tire and spin by Jim McBee on lap 5,  Clise was never threatened, winning but almost 3 seconds over Lasalle.


While Clise made it look easy at the front,  Lasalle had to hold off repeated challenges from Tim Smith for second, while  Jeff Miller, Jeff Rine and Danny Snyder went at it for fourth.  At the finish Lasalle hung on for second  ahead of Smith.  Snyder and Miller both got by Rine to fill out the top 5. Clise and Tyler Emory won the heats.


Like Clise, Kyle Deneen’s frustrating season earned him a front row starting spot.  He jumped into the lead at the start but drew a crowd at the front.  After a first lap slowdown for a Barry Clark flat tire,  Deneen led but was hounded by Derek Hinish, who jumped from fifth to second on lap two.  Deneen led a ten car pack as the field sorted out for the long distance event.


1th starter Charlie Clise methodically threaded through the pack as the  field completed a long string of green flag laps.  After a long wrestling match,  Clise got by  Kevin Weyandt for third on lap 30.  At that point the top three started to pull away from the rest of the pack.  Clise ran down the two leaders, but withthem battling hard  he couldn’t find a way by.


At the finish,  Deneen held off Hinish and Clise for the popular win.   Kevin Weyandt beat Dalton Weyant to complete the top 5.   Denver Dishong and Dalton Ritchey came from deep in the field to  take sixth and seventh.  Cody Jarvie, Clark and Geoff Sosnowski completed the top 10.  Kevin Weyandt and Hinish won the heats.


Mike Altobelli made it look easy,  as he raced from  sixth t to sweep by early leader Donnie Farlling in lap 4 of the EMod event.     Fellow third row starter Mitch Thomas  followed Altobelli forward, arriving in second on lap nine    Thomas made a valiant effort but Altobelli was not to be headed, rushing off to another win.  Thomas, Farlling, Jonathan Taylor and first lap leader Jacob Whitt completed the top 5.  Taylor and Altobelli won the heats.


Tyler Beckett started on the 4 Cylinder pole and ran off from the field as the race went the first nine laps  green.  Luke Hribar, Todd Price and Shawn Smith battled hard for second   Price secured that second spot on lap 8  One lap later the event was dramatically stopped as the Smith car burst into flames in turn 4.


On the restart, Price made a challenge to the leader but Beckett again got away to score the win.  But the 58 came up very light on the scale and Price was belatedly awarded the win.      In the reset order, Jay Talley was second followed by Jeff Marlett, Like Hribar and Keshawn Dempsey.   Talley and Price won the heats.



LATE MODEL 25 LAP  1  Chuck Clise  Nathan Lasalle,  Tim Smith,  Danny Snyder,  Jeff Miller,  Jeff Rine,  Tyler Emory.  Wayne Johnson,  Brad Feight,  Alex Labby,  Jim McBee,  Justin Weaver  DNS  Matt Sponaugle


EMOD 20 LAPS  1  Mike Altobelli,  Mitch Thomas,  Donny Farlling,  Jonathan Taylor,  Jacob Whitt,  Beau Aikey,  John Whitfield,  Bill Vanmeter,  Dennis Perigo,  Rodney Hartman,  Tommy Hughes,  David Green,  Mike Meck,


PURE STOCK 42 LAP  1  Kyle Deneen,  Derek Hinish,  Charlie Clise,  Kevin Weyandt,  Dalton Weyant,  Denver Dishong,  Dalton Ritchey,  Cody Jarvie,  Barry Clark,  Geoff Sosnowski,  Josh Haggerty,  Tom Lewis,  Kyle Beckett,  Darren Ritchey,  Bill Shehan,  Anthony Troutman,  Franklin Foor,  DNS  Cody Riggleman



4 CYLINDER  12 LAPS  Todd Price,  Jay Talley,  Jeff Marlett,  Luke Hribar,  Kershawn Dempsey,  Paul Shore,  Steve Delozier,  Jason Woods,  Matthew Jones,  George Shore,  Jimmy Delozier,  Shawn Smith,  Ernie Hewitt,  DNS  Darren Chesney,  Richard Athey,  Shawn Metty,  DQ  Kyle Beckett