Bedford Speedway » 2023 Results


June 5th, 2023

Erick Rudolph made the visit to Bedford Speedway Sunday very rewarding as he swept away with the win in the annual visit of the BRP Big Block modifieds. In other action on Modified madness night, Drake Troutman rallied late to take the track EMod win before Bill Vanmeter ended the show with a Crate modified win.

After the pill draw, Rudolph earned an up front start and made the best of things.  After a few laps of side by side racing with Jimmy Holden he pulled into the lead and was never really threatened.  Billy Pauch moved into second and looked to challenge Rudolph for a few laps, but Rudolph held on and was ahead when the caution flew at the halfway mark.


Although Rudolph sped away on the restart, the caution proved pivotal for Pauch as Garrett Krummert moved in and took second from Pauch.   From that point on the top 3 remained the same as Rudolph slid further ahead every lap, zipping through heavy lapped traffic.


Krummert chased Rudolph to the end but never closed on Rudolph, who won by over two seconds.  Pauch was another two seconds back in third ahead of Rex King Jr.  It was a race long battle behind the front four who had pulled way ahead of the gang.  Brad Rapp took  fifth, ahead of Trevor Wright and Colton Walters.  Pauch, Rudolph and King Jr won the heats.


Pole sitter Jonathan Taylor led the EMod event early ahead of David Stremme.  Drake Troutman took second on lap three and began to close on Taylor.   As the pair entered lapped traffic, Troutman was more successful at negotiating things and slipped by Taylor on lap 11.   From that point on, Troutman pulled away from all challengers to post a win.   Taylor held on for second ahead of Stremme,  Evan Taylor who came from eighth, and Brandon Inglish.  Jonathan Taylor and Troutman took heat wins.


Billy Vanmeter, who has been running against the regular EMods in 2023, used his experience to easily win the Crate Mod event to end the evening.


BRP BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS  35 LAPS    Erick Rudolph,  Garrett Krummert,  Billy Pauch Jr.  Rex King Jr.  Brad Rapp.  Trevor Wright,  Collin Walters,  Chaz Wolburt,  Kyle Fink,  Steve Slater,   Jimmy Holden,  Ray Bliss,  Shannon Whaley,  Wally Wade, Shawn Koser,  Mark Frankhouser,  JR McGinley,  Bob Garvey,  Mike Kinney,  Rod Beltz,  DNS  Dave Murdick


EMOD  25 LAPS     Drake Troutman,  Jonathan Taylor,  David Stremme,  Evan Taylor,  Brandon Inglish,  Jacob Marker,  Donnie Farlling,  Jared Spalding,  George Beckett,  Dan Patterson,  David Green,  Amber Mills,  Tom Wakefield,  Mike Meck,    DNS  Brandon Hoover


CRATE MOD  15 LAPS    Bill Vanmeter,  Kevin VanHorn,  Jason Kipp,  Bryce Broadwater,  Michael Wilhelm,  Wyatt Marker