Bedford Speedway » 2010 Results


May 22nd, 2010

By Dave Harclerode

BEDFORD, PA – Jeremy Miller brought his super late model to Bedford Friday night to get dialed in for next week’s World of Outlaw late model show. Consider the car ready, because Miller blasted into the lead from his fourth starting spot and won easily by over fifteen car lengths. Other winners on the night were Rick Singleton in the Limited Late Model division, Brian Duffy in a controversial Street Stock feature, Justin Michael took his first win in his first ever visit in the Hobby Stocks, and Paul Crynock won his second 4 cylinder feature on the season.

Matt Parks and Jeff Rine brought the Super Late Model field to the green flag, but a first lap crash between Allen Lemin, Wayne Johnson, and Chuck Clise reset the field for a complete restart. Miller, who was in the fourth starting spot, took advantage of the restart and took off like a rocket ship, passing Scott Haus, Jeff Rine, and Matt Parks to take the lead. Miller led comfortably throughout the race, with Parks second and Haus third until Haus pulled off the track with mechanical problems. Miller had checked out, Parks had a solid second going, and all eyes were on third on back. DJ Myers, Jeff Rine, Jack Pencil, and Dylan Yoder put on a great show with side by side racing, position swapping, and some skilled driving on a super fast racing surface. Miller took the checkered by over fifteen car lengths, and Parks took home second. The big battle for third ended with eighth starting Myers claiming the spot at the end, followed by Rine, Pencil, and Yoder. Greg Fetters finished seventh, Steve Everhart eighth, Derek Byler came from his 18th starting spot to finish 9th, and Randy Burkholder completed the top ten. The win was Miller’s third career triumph at Bedford. Parks and Myers won the heat events.

A couple drivers took a turn at the top spot in Limited Late Model action until Rick Singleton worked his way into first and claimed the spot for the night. Donnie Farlling was the early race leader, but gave the spot up to Darrell Dick. Sixth starting Singleton picked his through the top five, blasted around Dick, and never looked back. Dick and Farlling faded through the field, and several of Bedford’s regular front runners found themselves in the top five. Following Singleton to the checkered was Daniel Cornman, Mike Duck, Tim Smith, Jr., and Matt Howsare. Dick ended up sixth, Matt Sponaugle came from 18th to finish seventh, and Andy Fries, Justin Kann, and Brian Lessley rounded out the top ten. Heat winners were Farlling, Robbie Black, and Singleton.

The Street Stock division arguably puts on the best racing consistently at Bedford. Unfortunately, the division also creates a lot of controversy. Jim Sayler led the feature contest early before pulling off three laps into the event with mechanical issues, and Bob Jay assumed the top spot. Side by side racing ensued between nearly the whole field, and what it was over it appeared that Chris Chamberlain had won his first ever feature at Bedford. However, Chamberlain refused to have his unsealed engine checked following the race and subsequently was disqualified. Bob Jay, who finished third, also refused engine tech and was disqualified. Brian Duffy finished the race in second, had no issues with tech, and was declared the winner. Bill Henney was named second, Jesse Snyder third, Mike Desch fourth, and Daryl Whetstone fifth. The win was the Duffy’s career number seventeen at Bedford. Snyder and Chamberlain won the heats.

The Hobby Stocks always put on a great show, and fans witnessed another good one Friday. Mandy Jay was lightning fast and appeared to be on her way to her first ever Bedford victory. But following Jay was newcomer Justin Michael, who was also looking for a first win. Jay entered turn three after leading half the race, and the car pushed high. That was all Michael needed to take the lead. It was an easy road to the checkered though, and a four car wad crossed the finish line with Michael narrowly beating Charlie Walter, Bill Replogle, and Reed Stickel Jr. Travis Group recovered from a crash earlier in the race to finish fifth. Replogle and Chuck Weyant won the heats.

Paul Crynock won the 4 Cylinder feature event, and the win came as a surprise. Mike Lauffer was the initial winner of the race, and the car passed through tech with no problems. However, the division has a claim rule which states any winning car can be claimed for $600. There was a claim put on Lauffer’s ride Friday night, and Lauffer refused. The refusal resulted in a disqualification, and Paul Crynock was given the victory. Jeremy Miller, Phil Best, Dave Lambert, and Ralph Miller completed the top five. Heats went to Jeff Treece and Crynock.

Next Friday night, the World of Outlaw Late Models will be invading Bedford Speedway. Also on the card will be the All American Outlaws and the 4 Cylinders, who will be racing for double purse. The show will start early, with hot laps going off at 6pm. Visit for more details.


FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Miller 2. Matt Parks 3. DJ Myers 4. Jeff Rine 5. Jack Pencil 6. Dylan Yoder 7. Greg Fetters 8. Steve Everhart 9. Derek Byler 10. Randy Burkholder 11. Tom Decker, Jr. 12. Scott Rhodes 13. Larry Wright 14. Allen Lemin 15. Chuck Clise 16. Shawn Claar (DNF) 17. Scott Haus (DNF) 18. Matt Sala (DNF) 19. Wayne Johnson (DNF) 20. TJ Wright (DNF)

HEAT 1: Parks, Haus, Rine
HEAT 2: Myers, Miller, Fetters


FEATURE: 1. Rick Singleton 2. Daniel Cornman 3. Mike Duck 4. Tim Smith, Jr. 5. Matt Howsare 6. Darrell Dick 7. Matt Sponaugle 8. Andy Fries 9. Justin Kann 10. Brian Lessley 11. Steve Bard 12. Donnie Farlling 13. Travis Stickley 14. Rance Garlock 15. Matt Cosner 16. Matt Emerick 17. Eddie Cornett 18. Craig Perigo 19. Eric Irvin 20. Corey Weaver 21. Dale Claycomb, Jr. 22. Robbie Black (DNF) 23. Ryan Dixon (DNF) 24. Ralph Morgan, Jr. (DNF) 25. Kyle Wiser (DNF)

HEAT 1: Farlling, Lessley, Smith
HEAT 2: Black, Bard, Cornman
HEAT 3: Singleton, Duck, Dick


FEATURE: 1. Brian Duffy 2. Bill Henney 3. Jesse Snyder 4. Mike Desch 5. Daryl Whetstone 6. Donald Wyles 7. Zane Weicht 8. Kerry Molovich 9. Cody Buterbaugh 10. Jim Sayler
DQ: Chris Chamberlain, Bob Jay

HEAT 1: Snyder, Jay, Desch
HEAT 2: Chamberlain, Duffy, Whetstone


FEATURE: 1. Justin Michael 2. Charlie Walter 3. Bill Replogle 4. Reed Stickel, Jr. 5. Travis Group 6. Mandy Jay 7. Jarrod Brown 8. Tyler Ritchey 9. Terry Norris
DQ: Ryan Beckett
DNS: Chuck Weyant, Ed Vogel, Ray Shepherd

HEAT 1: Replogle, Beckett, Group
HEAT 2: Weyant, Stickel, Ritchey


FEATURE: 1. Paul Crynock 2. Jeremy Miller 3. Phil Best 4. Dave Lambert 5. Ralph Miller 6. Tyler Beckett 7. Ronnie Valentine 8. Jon Gephart 9. Junior Hoover 10. Juan Ryan 11. Cindy Rhodes 12. Steve Frederick 13. Ben Hittie 14. Joe Miller 15. Matt Winegardner 16. Jeff Treece
DNS: Joe Means

HEAT 1: Treece, Ryan, Jeremy Miller
HEAT 2: Crynock, Frederick, Rhodes