Bedford Speedway » 2010 Results


June 13th, 2010

By Dave Harclerode

BEDFORD, PA –  Bedford speedway hosted the Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model speedweek finale on Friday night, and 37 cars Super Late Models and 34 Limited Late Models filled the pits for the event.  Coleby Frye won the biggest race of his young career, pocketed $5,000, and put on a courageous show as he literally battled door to door with one of the regions best.  The Limited Late Model feature was won by Tim Smith, Jr., who holds the record for most wins at Bedford in the division.

Time Trials for the Super Lates started the evening, and DJ Troutman’s 19.389 seconds nearly broke Scott Bloomquist’s 19.346 one lap track record.  Troutman, driving a car owned by Limited Late Model driver Daniel Cornman, also scorched the field in his heat race and looked to be a serious contender come feature time.  But Troutman’s engine expired as he took the checkered in the heat, and the car was parked for the night.  Other heat winners were Rick Eckert, Coleby Frye, and Jack Pencil.  Randy Burkholder and Scott Haus won the two B-main events.  The 40 lap main event for the 25 car field started without a hitch, and Coleby Frye grabbed the top position at the drop of the green.  By lap 13, Frye encountered lapped traffic and was able to put some distance between himself and second place runner Jeremy Miller.  As the top two worked through traffic, a huge battle for third on back thrilled fans.  Vic Coffey, Derek Byler, Rick Eckert, and DJ Myers put on the show battling for the third through sixth spots.  Back at the front, Miller was slowly gaining on Frye, and a late race caution with 9 to go put him right on Frye’s bumper.  When the green came back out, it was Frye running the top side and Miller on the bottom every lap with Frye gaining a slight advantage each circuit.  Coming to the white flag, Frye hopped the cushion in turn 4 and Miller pulled along side down the frontstretch.  The pair made contact, and it was Miller with the lead going into turn one on the last lap.  The pair again made contact coming off of turn two, and this time it was Frye with the advantage, an advantage he’d carry all the way to the checkered.  Frye was ecstatic in victory lane after picking up the biggest win of his career, and Miller was less than happy with the results.  Vic Coffey earned the third finish spot, and rookie driver Derek Byler and wylie veteran Rick Eckert completed the top five.  Sixth through tenth went to DJ Myers, Darryl Hills, Jack Pencil, Jamie Lathroum, and Jeff Rine. 

Tim Smith, Jr. was the best of 34 Limited Late Models, and won his 24th career feature win at Bedford.  Smith won the 25 lap event over Matt Sponaugle, Rick Singleton, Matt Cosner, and Craig Wagaman.  Matt Howsare, Daniel Cornman, Andy Fries, Kyle Lear, and Glenn Elliot. 


FEATURE (40 laps):  1. Coleby Frye  2. Jeremy Miller  3. Vic Coffey  4. Derek Byler  5. Rick Eckert  6. DJ Myers  7. Darryl Hills  8. Jack Pencil  9. Jamie Lathroum  10. Jeff Rine  11. Brian Booze  12. Nick Dickson  13. Andy Anderson  14. Ricky Elliot  15. Scott Haus  16. Jim Yoder  17. Dylan Yoder  18. Keith Jackson  19. Shawn Claar  20. Steve Everhart  21. Mike Lupfer  22. Jeff Miller  23. Randy Burkholder  24. Scott Rhodes  25. DJ Troutman
DNQ:  JT Spence, Frankie Plessinger, Mike Walls, Scott LeBarron, Mike Altobelli, Jr., Allen Lemin, Chris Harr, Greg Fetters, Chuck Clise, Wayne Johnson, Al Cheney, Tom Decker, Jr.


FEATURE (25 laps):  1. Tim Smith, Jr.  2. Matt Sponaugle  3. Rick Singleton  4. Matt Cosner  5. Craig Wagaman  6. Matt Howsare  7. Daniel Cornman  8. Andy Fries  9. Kyle Lear  10. Glenn Elliott  11. Donnie Farlling  12. Darrell Dick  13. Bobby Beard  14. Travis Stickley  15. Steve Billett  16. Justin Kann  17. Roy Miller  18. Grant Adams  19. Tom Eriksen  20. Rance Garlock  21. Ed Pope  22. Cam Zeigler  23. Duane Harbaugh  24. Pete Weaver  25. Brian Lesley
DNQ:  Randy Croop, Travis Calhoun, Corey Weaver, Eric Irvin, Eddie Cornett, Chaz Walls, Craig Perigo, Alex Updegraff