Bedford Speedway » News

Bedford Banquet Concludes 2019 Season

February 2nd, 2020

A standing room only crowd of Bedford Speedway drivers, crew members and fans gathered inside the Bedford Elks Ballroom on Saturday evening January 25th to bring an official close to the 2019 racing season with the annual Bedford Awards Banquet.


Honored at the banquet were the top ten point finishers in the Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Semi Late, Modified, Pure Stock and Four Cylinder divisions.


Late Model Champion Andy Haus was recognized for his first career Bedford Bedford Super Late Model title. Haus, who makes the three hour long tow to Bedford from Hamburg each week, piloted the potent family owned #76 to one feature win to go along with a consistent season of top five finishes. Haus follows in the footsteps of his legendary father, Scott, who won four consecutive Late Model championships from 1996-99. He narrowly edged out defending champion Jeff Rine by a five point margin in the final points race of the season to seal the triumph.


Also claiming his first Bedford Championship was Taylor Farlling in the Late Model Sportsman division. Hailing from Newville, Farlling has quickly ascended to the ranks of the top Late Model Sportsman drivers in the area. Like Andy Haus, Farlling is also following in the footsteps of his famous father Donnie, who also is a prior Bedford champion. Farlling also claimed one Bedford feature win in 2019 against very tough competition.


Modified champion Daniel Cornman, of Osterburg, earned his title in his first full season of competition back from a neatly decade long hiatus from regular competition. This was Cornman’s first Bedford Championship in a career that began over 20 years ago.


Bob Jay was the champion in the ultra-competitive Semi Late division. Jay, hailing from Everett, found victory lane three times this season. At the end of the season Jay announced his retirement from active competition, bringing the end to one of the most successful racing careers in Bedford history. Jay ends his career with 8 overall Bedford championships dating back to his first in 2000.


The Bedford Pure Stock champion was Josh Frankenberry of Everett. Frankenbery won his first Bedford title with a strong season which included four feature wins. Ryan Peer, from Ridgely, WV, dominated the Four Cylinder division with seven feature wins this season. Looking forward, Peer looks to make the move to the modified division for the 2020 season.


Longtime Semi Late competitor Bill Replogle was honored with the annual Charlie Walter Memorial Sportsmanship Award in recognition of his constant help and support of his fellow racers through the years. The sportsman award is in honored of the multi-time Bedford track champion who tragically lost his life several years ago. Bedford Fair manager John Holbert was recognized with a special appreciation award for his decade’s long service to the Bedford Fair as well as his work with auto racing at the facility. The Ray Shepherd Memorial Appreciation award was presented to longtime Bedford employee Steven Foor, in tribute to his over 30 years of efforts at the speedway.


Bedford now looks forward to the upcoming racing season with on track activity will commencing on Sunday afternoon March 29th, with a test and tune session open to all racers. The 2020 racing season will officially kick off on Sunday night, April 5th with the 84th Anniversary Opening Day. In action that night will be the Late Models joined by the Modifieds, Semi Lates, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders. Prior to racing action the speedway will host the annual race car show held in conjunction with the Bedford Chamber of Commerce Home & Garden Show.


Friday night racing continues throughout the summer, every week until Labor Day, with the occasional Sunday and holiday shows also on the schedule. As is tradition the Super Late Models will continue to headline Bedford racing, with a strong weekly program being augmented by several special events. The 2020 Bedford racing season will conclude at the end of September with the third annual $20,000 to win Keystone Cup Classic for the Late Models.


Bedford Speedway hosted its first auto race on September 5th 1936, with Depression-era star Billy Winn taking the win. Over the past 84 years the track has hosted some of the greatest names in racing history. The speedway is located at the intersection of I-99 & US 30, with easy access from PA Turnpike exit 146, just blocks from beautiful downtown Bedford, PA. The large fairgrounds oval plays host to weekly Friday night racing, as well as a diverse mix of special events.


Visit for more event information or visit Bedford Speedway on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram for more Bedford updates.