Bedford Speedway » 2011 Results

Bloomquist Takes Third Straight Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Win on Friday Night at Bedford

April 30th, 2011


BEDFORD, PA (April 29, 2011) Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN continued his streak on Friday Night as he captured his third consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event in a row at Bedford Speedway. Bloomquist dominated the event, lapping up to the ninth place finisher. Steve Shaver of Vienna, WV was second followed by Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.

Bloomquist and Shaver started on the front row of the 50-lap $10,000 to win main event. Bloomquist bolted to the lead from the start. He held a six-car length lead over Shaver in the first five laps of the race. Bloomquist started to pick-up the tail-end of the field by lap ten, and had distanced himself further from the battle for the second spot between Shaver and Owens. The first and only caution of the race appeared on lap 16 for a slowing Chris Wall on the backstretch. On the restart, Bloomquist continued his dominating performance as he pulled away from the hotly contested race for second between Shaver and Owens. Read more »


April 16th, 2011

By Dave Harclerode

BEDFORD, PA –  Coleby Frye made Bedford Speedway’s 2011 season opener a memorable one Friday night by winning both the Super Late Model main event and the Limited Late Model feature.  The Dover, Pennsylvania driver is the first ever to win feature events in multiple divisions on the same date at the 75 year old track, a rare accomplishment in the world of racing.  In Street Stock action, 2010 division champ Bill Henney started the season off on the right foot by winning both his heat and the feature event.  Travis Group triumphed in Hobby Stock action, and Andrew Pluta capped the cold evening with a 4-Cylinder win.

Frye blistered the field to earn his third career Bedford Super Late Model win.  Coleby picked up his first two Bedford Super Late Model wins last season, including the huge Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek finale.  Quickly becoming a fan favorite, Frye started in the third slot for the 25 lap main event.  Frye battled for the top spot with DJ Myers and Jeff Miller for several laps until he broke free from the pack and easily held a several car length lead for the remainder of the race.  A late race caution for 4 time champ Scott Haus bunched the field and put second place running DJ Myers on Frye’s bumper, but when green flag racing resumed Frye was unstoppable.  Myers finished a distant second, with Miller, Gene Knaub, and Jack Pencil rounding out the top five.  Dylan Yoder won the hard charger award and finished sixth, and Nick Dickson, Greg Fetters, Jerry Bard, and Matt Parks completed the top ten score card.  Newcomer Gene Knaub and Myers won the heat events. Read more »